'09 Soccer Gathers at Team Banquet

March 9, 2010

TUCSON--The Arizona women's soccer team gathered on Friday, Feb. 19, for the team's annual banquet.

At the banquet, head coach Lisa Oyen and associate head coach John Galas announced the team awards and recognized all of the players and support staff from the 2009 season.

'Our banquet is a much anticipated event as it is a time when we can thank everyone for their involvement and support of our program and also recognize the accomplishments of our student-athletes,' Oyen said. 'We are able to recognize those players who have proven their positive impact on our team through their season statistics and accomplishments, and also those players who have an impact on the team in ways that statistics do not reflect.'

'The variety of award recipients is an accurate reflection on the depth of talent we have in our program and one of the reasons we are so optimistic for the future of our program,' Oyen added. 'We are very appreciative of all the accomplishment and contributions from our senior class over the last for year and excited about the future of Wildcat Soccer.'

Junior Macke Mutz and 2009 senior captain Analisa Marquez were honored as co-Team MVP. Mutz started in all 19 games she played in, was tied for third on the team with goals and fifth on the team in shots. Marquez also notched 19 starts, had eight shots on the season and helped anchor the UA defense.

The award for Offensive MVP was given to both redshirt junior Alex Davis and sophomore Renae Cuellar. Davis was second on the team with 23 shots and she score one goal on the year. Davis started 19 of 20 games played. Cuellar led the Wildcats with six goals and 43 shots. The sophomore hit three game-winning goals.

Marquez and freshman Kirstyn Magyar were given the honor of co-Defensive MVP. Magyar was key on defense in all 18 games she played in, 15 of which she started.

Magyar also was given the honor of Rookie of the Year in addition to the Most Improved Player honor selected by the team, along with Carley Myers. Jessica Culver received the Most Improved Player as handed out by the coaches.

The honor for Most Inspirational went to freshman Itzel Rodriguez. Rodriguez played in 16 games, took six shot attempts and tallied one assist.

A quartet of student-athletes were also recognized for their efforts in the classroom with Academic Excellence awards, including Sam Drees, Davis, Myers and Kristin Strother.

2009 Arizona Soccer Awards

Team MVPMacke Mutz and Analisa Marquez

Offensive MVPAlex Davis and Renae Cuellar

Defensive MVPAnalisa Marquez and Kirstyn Magyar

Rookie of the YearKirstyn Magyar

Most InspirationalItzel Rodriguez

Most Improved Player - Team AwardCarley Myers and Kirstyn Magyar

Most Improved Player - Coaches AwardJessica Culver

Academic ExcellenceSam DreesAlex DavisCarley MyersKristin Strother



Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder