Coach Caldwell Finalist for Kay Yow Award

March 9, 2010

It was announced on Tuesday, that UCLA head coach Nikki Caldwell is one of 10 finalists for the inaugural Kay Yow award. The award was established to honor the Division I women's head coach who embodies not only a winning spirit, but also displays great character both on and off the court. The winner will be voted on by a 26-person panel with the award to be presented at the 2010 Women's Final Four in San Antonio, TX.

Caldwell, who has led the Bruins to a 22-7 overall record and a second-place finish in the Pac-10, is joined on the list of finalists by Geno Auriemma - UConn; Sherri Coale - Oklahoma; Jim Jabor, Dayton; Muffet McGraw - Notre Dame; Jennifer Rizzotti - Hartford; Sue Semrau - Florida State; Pat Summitt - Tennessee; Tara VanDerveer; Connie Yori - Nebraska.

Coach Kay Yow led North Carolina State to 737 wins during her 34 seasons at the school and also was a member of coaching staffs which won gold medals at the 1981 World University Games, the 1986 Goodwill Games, the 1986 World Championship Games and the 1988 Olympic Games.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder