Ogwumike Headlines Five Cardinal Players Honored By Pac-10 Media

March 9, 2010

  • Pac-10 Media Awards Get Acrobat Reader

    STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford forward Nnemkadi Ogwumike was voted as the Pac-10 media's Player of the Year Tuesday as the conference announced its Pac-10 Media Awards and All-Pac-10 Teams. The awards were voted on by a panel of Pac-10 women's basketball media members who cover the league.

    Ogwumike, a sophomore from Cypress, Texas, was also part of the All-Pac-10 Team, leading all conference players with 218 points in the voting.

    Senior center and 2009 Pac-10 Player of the Year Jayne Appel was second with 203 points, while junior forward Kayla Pedersen (176) and junior guard Jeanette Pohlen (58) were also voted onto the media's All-Pac-10 Team.

    Rounding out the Cardinal's starting five was redshirt senior guard Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, who was named to the media's Pac-10 All-Defensive Team.

    Ogwumike leads the Pac-10 in scoring (18.2 ppg) and and field goal percentage (63.8), and ranks third in rebounding (9.4 rpg). Helping the second-ranked Cardinal run the table during the regular-season league action (18-0) and earn the top seed in the upcoming State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament, Ogwumike's 63.8 shooting percentage from the field is the fourth-best shooting percentage in the nation. In 2009-10 Ogwumike has captured a conference-leading three Pac-10 Player of the Week honors and is on the State Farm Wade Watch List for the Wade Trophy Player of the Year

    Appel, despite coming off knee surgery over the summer, regained her 2009 Pac-10 Player of the Year and State Farm All-America form, is currently second in the Pac-10 with 9.9 rebounds per game and fourth with a 53.7 field goal percentage. A candidate for the Wade Trophy, the John R. Wooden Award and the James Naismith Trophy, Appel is also averaging 14.3 points a game this year.

    In 2009-10 Pedersen has come into her own as arguably the most versatile of the Cardinal arsenal. Taking on a role at the wing this year, the Fountain Hills, Ariz. native is boasting career highs in scoring (16.7 ppg), rebounding (9.0 rpg), three-pointers made (47) and three-point field goal percentage (40.2). The Wade Trophy, John R. Wooden Award and James Naismith Trophy candidate is fourth in the conference in scoring, rebounding and three-point shooting percentage, and has posted 10 double-doubles on the year.

    The sparkplug of the Cardinal backcourt, Pohlen has taken on the dual role of point guard and long-range bomber for Stanford. The Brea, Calif. native leads the Pac-10 with a superb assist-to-turnover ratio of 1.95 and is second in the conference with 4.54 assists per game. Behind the arc, Pohlen leads the Cardinal with 51 three-pointers and is shooting 35.9 percent on threes while averaging 9.3 points per game.

    Gold-Onwude has carved out a reputation for herself as one of the Pac-10's top defenders, regularly shouldering the burden of guarding an opponent's top backcourt scorer. Her intensity on defense has helped the Cardinal keep many of the Pac-10's most talented and high-scoring guards in check and is a big reason that Stanford leads the Pac-10 lowest figures in scoring defense (54.3 ppg), field goal percentage defense (33.9) and three-point field goal percentage (26.1).

    Stanford (28-1, 18-0 Pac-10), the now 10-time defending Pac-10 champions, will open Pac-10 Tournament play Friday afternoon, taking on the winner of Thursday's Arizona-Washington State play-in game at 1:15 p.m.

    Pac-10 Media Player of the Year
    Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford

    Pac-10 Media Freshman of the Year
    Davellyn Whyte, Arizona

    Pac-10 Media Defender of the Year
    Ify Ibekwe, Arizona

    Pac-10 Media Coach of the Year
    Nikki Caldwell, UCLA

    2010 Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 (Points)
    Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford (218)
    Jayne Appel, Stanford (203)
    Alexis Gray-Lawson, California (185)
    Kayla Pedersen, Stanford (176)
    Ify Ibekwe, Arizona (153)
    Jasmine Dixon, UCLA (117)
    Ashley Corral, USC (106)
    Taylor Lilley, Oregon (106)
    Danielle Orsillo, Arizona State (85)
    Davellyn Whyte, Arizona (69)
    Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford (58)
    Markel Walker, UCLA (56)
    Talisa Rhea, Oregon State (47)
    Sami Whitcomb, Washington (41)
    Briana Gilbreath, USC (32)

    2010 Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team (Points)
    Davellyn Whyte, Arizona (62)
    Markel Walker, UCLA (53)
    KiKi Moore, Washington State (40)
    DeNesha Stallworth, California (27)
    Gennifer Brandon, California (7)

    2010 Media All-Defensive Team (Points)
    Ify Ibekwe, Arizona (50)
    KiKi Moore, Washington State (35)
    Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, Stanford (33)
    Briana Gilbreath, USC (20)
    Carly Noyes, Washington State (12)

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    5:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network