Three California Players Earn Pac-10 Medai Awards

March 9, 2010


Senior Alexis Gray-Lawson was named to the Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 Team in honoros announced by the Conference. Freshmen DeNesha Stallworth and Gennifer Brandon were named to the Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team.

A panel of Pac-10 women's basketball media members who cover the league selected a 15-member All-Pac-10 team, a five-member All-Defensive team and a five-member All-Freshman team. This is the first year that media honors are being awarded in addition to the official Pac-10 All-Conference, All-Freshman, and All-Defensive teams. All three of those official honors will be announced on Wednesday, March 10.

Senior guard Alexis Gray-Lawson, who is currently second in the Pac-10 in scoring, averaging 18.0 points per game, was named to the Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 team.

Cal had two freshmen on the five-member Pac-10 Media All-Freshmen team. Forwards DeNesha Stallworth and Gennifer Brandon both earned the inaugural honor.

Cal did not have a player on the Pac-10 Media All-Defensive team.

The media also selected Stanford's Nnemkadi Ogwumike as the Player of the Year, Arizona's Ify Ibekwe as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Davellyn White of Arizona as the Freshman of the Year. Nikki Caldwell of UCLA was named the media's Coach of the Year. The official conference honors will be released on Thursday, March 11 for those same awards.

2010 Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 (Points): Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STANFORD (218); Jayne Appel, STANFORD (203); Alexis Gray-Lawson, CALIFORNIA (185); Kayla Pedersen, STANFORD (176); Ify Ibekwe, ARIZONA (153); Jasmine Dixon, UCLA (117); Ashley Corral, USC (106); Taylor Lilley, OREGON (106); Danielle Orsillo, ARIZONA STATE (85); Davellyn Whyte, ARIZONA (69); Jeanette Pohlen, STANFORD (58); Markel Walker, UCLA (56); Talisa Rhea, OREGON STATE (47); Sami Whitcomb, WASHINGTON (41); Briana Gilbreath, USC (32).

2010 Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team (Points): Davellyn Whyte, ARIZONA (62); Markel Walker, UCLA (53); KiKi Moore, WASHINGTON STATE (40); DeNesha Stallworth, CALIFORNIA (27); Gennifer Brandon, CALIFORNIA (7).

2010 Media All-Defensive Team (Points): Ify Ibekwe, ARIZONA (50); KiKi Moore, WASHINGTON STATE (35); Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, STANFORD (33); Briana Gilbreath, USC (20); Carly Noyes, WASHINGTON STATE (12).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder