Wise, Williams Share Team MVP Honors

March 9, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. - Nic Wise and Derrick Williams were named the Arizona men's basketball co-most valuable players as part of the awards presented Monday night at the team's annual awards banquet held at the Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa.

Wise, a 5-foot-10, 180-pound senior guard from Houston, Texas, earned team co-most-valuable-player honors after averaging 14.4 points, 3.3 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game in 30 appearances. Wise shoots 38.5 percent (125-of-385) from the field and a team-leading 87.4 percent (132-of-151) from the free throw line. He's finished in double figures 22 times this year, including two 20-point and two 30-point games. Wise also received the Mo Udall Captain's Award.

Williams, a 6-foot-8, 235-pound freshman forward from La Mirada, Calif., shared the MVP award after averaging 15.7 points, 7.0 rebounds per game to go with a .588 (157-of-267) field goal percentage. A starter in 29 of 30 appearances, he has finished in double figures 27 times and has nine 20-point games and four double-doubles to his credit. Williams joins Jerryd Bayless (2008) and Sean Elliott (1986) as the only Arizona freshmen to win or share the award since 1986.

Kevin Parrom, a 6-foot-6, 205-pound freshman guard/forward from the Bronx, N.Y., was named the Best Defender after averaging 4.5.2 points, 4.3 rebounds and 0.7 steals per game in 16 appearances. Seventy-two percent of his rebounds have been on the defensive end and his has four blocked shots to his credit.

Lamont Jones, a 6-foot, 200-pound freshman guard from Harlem, N.Y., was picked up the Most Improved Player Award after averaging 6.6 points, 1.8 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game in 29 regular-season appearances. He shoots 42.1 percent (75-of-178) from the field, and carries a 1.2:1 assist:turnover ratio. He has nine double-figure scoring games to his credit.

2009-10 Arizona Basketball Awards

Fred Enke Most Outstanding Player Award: Nic Wise and Derrick Williams

Mo Udall Captains Award: Nic Wise

Best Defender Award: Kevin Parrom

Most Improved Player Award: Lamont Jones

Best Teammate Award: Alex Jacobson

Golden 'A' Award (given for highest fall GPA): Kyle Fogg and Max Wiepking

Arizona (16-14, 10-8 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 11, at the 2010 Pacific Life Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament. The fourth-seeded Wildcats face No. 5 seed UCLA at 12:10 p.m. PST. The game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports Net.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network