UCLA's Nikki Caldwell Named Pac-10 Coach Of The Year

March 11, 2010

UCLA's Nikki Caldwell was honored by her conference peers as the 2009-10 Pac-10 Women's Basketball Coach of the Year, becoming the first Bruin coach ever to win this award. The second-year head coach has led UCLA to a 22-7 overall and 15-3 Pac-10 record. The 15 league wins tied a school record originally set by the 1998-99 team that won the Pac-10 championship and advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight.

This season, three of Caldwell's Bruins landed on the All-Pac-10 team, including two on the first-team (Doreena Campbell and Jasmine Dixon). In addition, she had a player (Markel Walker) named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman first team for the second consecutive year. Caldwell goes into the 2010 State Farm Pac-10 Tournament with a career record of 41-19 overall and 24-12 in Pac-10 games.

Caldwell is a 1994 graduate of Tennessee, where she was also an assistant coach under legendary Pat Summit for six years before moving to Los Angeles. At Tennessee, she won three NCAA titles - one as a player in 1991 and two as an assistant coach in 2007 and 2008.

Caldwell, who was also selected by the Pac-10 media as the Coach of the Year, is the first UCLA coach to be named Conference Coach of the Year since Billie Moore earned WCAA Coach of the Year honors in 1984-85.

Also honored by the Pac-10 coaches were Stanford sophomore Nnemkadi Ogwumike as Player of the Year, Arizona's Davellyn Whyte as Freshman of the Year and USC sophomore Briana Gilbreath and Stanford senior Rosalyn Gold-Onwude as Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network