Whyte, Ibekwe Win Pac-10 Honors

March 11, 2010

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Freshman guard Davellyn Whyte and junior forward Ify Ibekwe were each named to the All-Pac-10 team while Whyte was chosen the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Ibekwe was named to the all-Defensive Team in a vote conducted by the conference coaches.

Whyte was the top vote-getter on the five-player all-Freshman Team, becoming the fourth player in Arizona history to earn the award. Her selection also was the 13th all-time for an Arizona player and the third-straight season a Wildcat was chosen to the rookie squad.

Ibekwe repeated both her all-Pac-10 and all-Defensive team awards after earning the same honors last season. Ibekwe was the only repeat member of the team and is the third player in Pac-10 history to earn multiple defensive awards since the inception of the squad two seasons ago.

Ibekwe and Whyte were both named to the 15-person all-conference team, Ibekwe being one of nine repeat members on the 15-member all-conference team. Ibekwe, who was also an all-freshman team honoree two seasons ago, is the sixth player in Wildcat history to earn multiple 1st-team all-conference honors. Shawntinice Polk and Dee Dee Wheeler were the last players to accomplish the feat, earning three-straight honors from 2003-05.

Whyte was one of five underclass players named to the all-league squad, but was the only freshman chosen to the team. She is the 13th player in Pac-10 history to be named to the all-Pac-10 team, joining Polk as the only Arizona players in that select group.

Stanford sophomore Nnemkadi Ogwumike was chosen the Pac-10 Player of the Year while Briana Gilbreath of USC and Rosalyn Gold-Onwude were named the Co-Defensive Player of the Year. Second-year UCLA head coach Nikki Caldwell earned the Coach of the Year honor.

Arizona (13-16) is the #8 seed in the conference tournament and is in first round play on Thursday, March 11 against 9th-seeded Washington State at the Galen Center on the USC campus with tip-off scheduled for 6:00 p.m.

All-Pac-10 Team (15 members, in alphabetical order)Jayne Appel, Sr., C, Stanford, Pleasant Hill, Calif.Doreena Campbell, Jr., G, UCLA, Alexandria, Va.Micaela Cocks, Sr., G, Oregon, Auckland, New ZealandAshley Corral, So., G, USC, Vancouver, Wash.Jasmine Dixson, So., F, UCLA, Long Beach, Calif.Briana Gilbreath, So., G, USC, Katy, Tex.Alexis Gray-Lawson, Sr., G, California, Oakland, Calif.Ify Ibekwe, Jr., F, ARIZONA, Carson, Calif.Taylor Lilley, Sr., G, Oregon, Newhall, Calif.Nnemkadi Ogwumike, So., F, Stanford, Cypress, Tex.Kayla Pedersen, Jr., F, Stanford, Fountain Hills, Ariz.Jeanette Pohlen, Jr., G, Stanford, Brea, Calif.Danielle Orsillo, Sr., G, Arizona State, Oroville, Calif.Sami Whitcomb, Sr., G, Washington, Ventura, Calif.Davellyn Whyte, Fr., G, ARIZONA, Phoenix, Ariz.

Honorable mention (at least one vote): April Cook (Washington State, So., G), Rosalyn Gold-Onwude (Stanford, Sr., G), Amanda Johnson (Oregon, So., F), Talisa Rhea (Oregon State, Jr., G), DeNesha Stallworth (California, Fr., F/C), Becca Tobin (Arizona State, Jr., F), Markel Walker (UCLA, Fr., F)

All-Pac-10 Freshman Team (5 members)KiKi Moore, G, Washington State, San Francisco, Calif.Haiden Palmer, G, Oregon State, Moreno Valley, Calif.DeNesha Stallworth, F/C, California, Richmond, Calif.Markel Walker, F, UCLA, Philadelphia, Pa.Davellyn Whyte, G, ARIZONA, Phoenix, Ariz.

Honorable mention (at least one vote): Gennifer Brandon (California, F); Layshia Clarendon (California, G); Christina Marinacci (USC, F); Joslyn Tinkle (Stanford, F)

All-Pac-10 Defensive Team (5 members)Briana Gilbreath, So, G, USC, Katy, Tex.Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, Sr., G, Stanford, Queens, N.Y.Alexis Gray-Lawson, Sr., G, California, Oakland, Calif.Ify Ibekwe, Jr., F, ARIZONA, Carson, Calif.Eliza Pierre, Fr., G, California, Pasadena, Calif.

Honorable mention (at least one vote): Kristi Kingma (Washington, So., G/F); Kari LaPlante (USC, Jr., C); Kayli Murphy (Arizona State, Sr., F/C); Kayla Pedersen (Stanford, Jr., F); Markel Walker (UCLA, Fr., F)

Pac-10 Player of the Year - Nnemkadi Ogwumike, StanfordPac-10 Freshman of the Year - Davellyn Whyte, ArizonaPac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Briana Gilbreath, USC; Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, StanfordPac-10 Coach of the Year - Nikki Caldwell, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network