Stanford, UCLA Earn NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament Bids

March 15, 2010


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Two Pac-10 Women’s Basketball teams earned trips to the 2010 Division I  NCAA Tournament, the NCAA Women’s Basketball Selection Committee announced today with the release of the 64-team field. Second-ranked Stanford makes its 23rd-consecutive appearance in the postseason event, while 22nd-ranked UCLA makes its first return to the “Big Dance” since 2006.

Ranked second in the nation, Pac-10 Champion Stanford (31-1) earned the No. 1 seed in the Sacramento Regional, the team’s first No. 1 seed since 1998. The Cardinal, who captured the Conference tournament crown for the fourth-straight year, faces No. 16 seed UC Riverside in the first round at home at Maples Pavilion on Saturday, March 20 at 7:30 p.m. PT. Stanford is led by Pac-10 Player of the Year and Pac-10 Tournament Most Outstanding Player sophomore Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Cypress, Texas). The winner of this game moves on to  play the winner of the No. 8 seed Iowa (19-13)-No. 9 seed Rutgers (19-14) matchup on Monday, March 22.

UCLA (24-8) is the No. 8 seed in the Kansas City Regional, playing No. 9 NC State (20-13) in Minneapolis on Sunday, March 21 at 6:30 p.m. PT. UCLA is led by Pac-10 Coach of the Year Nikki Caldwell who is in her second season in Los Angeles. The Bruins would face the winner of the No. 1-seed Nebraska-No. 16 Northern Iowa first-round matchup in the second round on Tuesday, March 23.

The Pac-10 has had at least two teams in the NCAA Tournament since the first year of the event in 1981-82. In 2006, the Bruins advanced to the second round while Stanford is looking to make its third-straight trip to the NCAA Final Four. The NCAA Final Four will be held in San Antonio, Texas on April 4 and 6.

All 63 games of the NCAA Tournament will be televised on the ESPN family of networks - ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN360.

- -


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network