Wildcats Start With a Bang

March 18, 2010

Live Stats

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Arizona jump-started night one of the 2010 NCAA Women's Championships at Purdue by winning the 400 medley relay, its third consecutive year winning the event, and finished tied for 5th place with 106 points.  Ana Agy swam the backstroke leg before Annie Chandler put Arizona in a lead it would never relinquish.  Whitney Lopus held off Stanford's Elaine Breeden and Justine Schluntz swam the anchor as the Cats won in a time of 3:29.76.


'To be able to win this event (the 400 medley relay) three years in a row is amazing,' said Agy.  'We didn't necessarily talk about it a whole lot, but it was a goal of ours set at the beginning of the year.  I think this win can set us up nicely for tomorrow's events.'


200 Individual Medley duo Jenny Forster and Andrea Boritzke placed third and fifth, respectively in the consolation heat.  Forster had a time of 1:56.71 while Boritzke posted a showing of 1:57.29. Their performances were good for 10 points.


Swimming in the championship heat in the 500 free, Alyssa Anderson placed seventh overall with a time of 4:39.76 to earn All-American honors.  In the consolation heat, Leo Vorster recorded a runner-up finish in 4:39.06.  Between them, Anderson and Vorster earned UA 19 points.


In the 50 freestyle consols, Schluntz won the heat with a time of 22.23 to earn nine points. 


In the 200 free relay, the Cats took fifth place after the team of Schluntz, Chandler, Boritzke and Emma Darlington turned in a time of 1:29.08. The fifth-place finish garnered 28 points.  It was the first time in five seasons that the Wildcats did not win the event.  Arizona still holds the American and NCAA records in the relay set last season in College Station.


After day one, Arizona sits in 5th place with 106 points. Stanford is currently first with 142.5 points.


Standings Through Day 1

1. Stanford - 142.5 

2. Georgia - 134

3. Cal - 122

4. Florida - 107

T5. Arizona - 106

T5. Texas A&M - 106


Now on Pac-12 Network
4:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network