M Golf Hosts Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship

March 19, 2010

Callaway Match Play Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - On a course designed for the best golfers in the world, the University of Arizona men's golf team welcomes the nation's best collegiate players to Tucson for the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship, March 21-23 at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Course at Dove Mountain.

The 2010 Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship is a 16-team tournament featuring the finest teams in college golf. The four-round event will be contested at the Jack Nicklaus-designed Ritz-Carlton Golf Course at Dove Mountain, a par 72, 7,833-yard layout. This is the same facility and layout (Saguaro and Tortolita nines) that hosts the PGA Tour's Accenture Match Championships in February.

All competing teams are guaranteed four matches during the event. Two matches will be played on Sunday, March 21, with an 8 a.m. PDT shotgun start starting play. Single rounds will be played on Monday and Tuesday beginning at 9:30 p.m. on Monday and 8 a.m. on Tuesday.

Nine of the 16 teams in the field are ranked in the current (Feb. 24) Golf World/Nike Golf Division I Coaches poll, and the complete field (with ranking) includes Arizona, Arizona State (10), Colorado State, Indiana, Iowa, Middle Tennessee State, New Mexico, San Diego, Stanford (2), Texas A&M (5), TCU (17), Texas Tech (19), UCLA (11), UNLV (24), USC (18) and Washington (3).

First-round matches are as follows based on seed (listed): (1) Stanford vs. (16) Indiana, (8) USC vs. (9) TCU, (4) Arizona State vs. (13) Iowa, (5) UCLA vs. (12) Colorado State, (3) Texas A&M vs. (14) Arizona, (6) UNLV vs. (11) Middle Tennessee State, (7) Texas Tech vs. (10) San Diego, and (2) Washington vs. (15) New Mexico.

Eight teams return from the 2009 event, including Middle Tennessee State, the 2009 champion. Additionally, the reigning NCAA champion, Texas A&M is also a part of the field.

Arizona and UCLA both will be making its sixth appearance in the Collegiate Match Play Championships, most of any team in the field. Arizona last appeared in the event in 2006-07. Its best finish was a third-place effort in November 2002.

The 2010 Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship will be a straight match play event from start to finish. Competing teams will be made up of five individuals and each match will be comprised of five singles matches, using USGA match-play rules. Each singles match winner will be awarded one point. Halved will be awarded ½ point. The team score will be determined by totaling the points earned for the five singles matches. The team with the most points will be the winner.

Live tournament scoring will also be available at www.golfstat.com.

Tournament ScheduleSaturday, March 20	Practice Round, 8:30 a.m. PDT

Sunday, March 21 First Round Matches begin, 8 a.m. shotgun start Second Round and Consolation Matches begin, 1:30 p.m. shotgun start

Monday, March 22 Third Round Matches begin, 9:30 a.m. shotgun start

Tuesday, March 23 Final Round Matches begin, 8 a.m.

Past Champions*2008-09 Middle Tennessee State2007-08 UCLA2006-07 Oklahoma State2005-06 Georgia2004-05 Oklahoma State2003-04 Florida2002-03 Augusta State

* From 2002-08 the Collegiate Match Play Championship was contested in the fall. The event moved to the spring in 2009.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network