Cal Opens Season at San Diego Crew Classic

March 23, 2010


Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

This Week
California competes in the 37th annual San Diego Crew Classic on Saturday and Sunday, March 27-28, at Crown Point Shores in Mission Bay in San Diego. The Bears won three of four grand finals, including the Copley Cup varsity 8+ race at last year's event.
Please click here for the regatta schedule. Live results are available here. Live streaming of the regatta can be found here.

Fall Success
In fall competition earlier this season, Cal swept Stanford as it claimed first in the Open 8, Open 4 and the Freshman 8 at the Newport Autumn Rowing Festival on Nov. 1 in Newport Beach, Calif. The Bears clocked a time of 13:40.057 in the 8, 15:47.231 in the 4 and 14:59.643 in the Freshman 8 to take top honors in all three races.At the 45th annual Head of the Charles Regatta on Oct. 19 in Boston, Mass., the Bears came in second overall and first among collegiate boats, beating several elite national clubs, in the eight The men's eight outlasted third-place Washington and crossed the finish line at 14:45.55 in the 37-boat, 3.2-mile race. The men's four came in fifth overall and third among collegiate boats.

At the 2009 San Diego Crew Classic
Cal won three of four grand finals, including the Copley Cup varsity 8+ race at last year's San Diego Crew Classic. The Bears rowed to a time of 5:51.8 to edge second-place Washington, 5:52.61. Cal's second varsity 8+ won the Sharp Cabrillo Cup grand final, again finishing ahead of second-place Washington, 6:06.92-6:6:11.02. In the open 8+ or Joan Ward Memorial Trophy grand final, the Bears clocked a winning time of 6:30.7, with the Ltl Knights taking second in 6:36.23.

Teti Inducted Into Hall of Fame
Head Coach Mike Teti and assistant coach Wyatt Allen were inducted into the National Rowing Hall of Fame at Mystic Seaport, Conn. on March 20, 2010. Teti was honored as the coach of the gold medal-winning men¹s eight at the 2004 Athens Olympic Games and Allen was honored as one of the oarsmen in that gold medal-winning eight. Teti became the first person to be inducted into the National Rowing Hall of Fame as both an athlete and a coach.

International Competition
James Long-Lerno, the 2009 Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year, Sean Engel, Nareg Guregian, and Nick Lucey competed at the Under-23 World Championships in the Czech Republic last summer, with Long-Lerno and Guregian winning silver medals in the four. Lucey rowed on the men's eight and Engel in the quadruple sculls.

2009 Season Recap
Under first-year head coach Mike Teti, Cal captured the Pac-10 team and varsity 8 championships on May 17 at Lake Natoma near Sacramento. Nearly three weeks later, the Bears returned to the course for the 107th IRA Regatta. This time, Cal's varsity 8 put in a strong effort and claimed second place behind Washington. The varsity 4 won the IRA crown, while the second varsity 8 took third and the freshman 8 finished fourth. James Long-Lerno, a transfer from Orange Coast College, was named Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year, while Nareg Guregian, Nick Lucey, Jan Tize and Nikola Zunic were voted All-Pac-10.

A Look Ahead
After taking the next two weeks off, Cal will make its first appearance of the season at Redwood Shores on April and 17 and 18 in the Stanford Invitational. Two weeks later the Bears will face the Cardinal in the Big Row, and sandwiched between those two events is the big dual meet against Washington on April 24 at Redwood Shores.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder