M Golf Falls to Indiana, 3-2

March 23, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona men's golf team was defeated by Indiana, 3-2, Tuesday at the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Course at Dove Mountain.

The 16th-seeded Hoosiers got two 1-up wins from the bottom of its lineup to win the consolation bracket final. Indiana finished the event with a 3-1 match play record, while Arizona fell to 2-2.

Arizona's Jonathan Khan posted a 3 and 2 victory over Indiana's David Erby. Khan, a product of Tucson, Ariz., opened the day with a win on his first hole of the day, and took the lead for good with a birdie-3 on hole 17 and pushed his lead to 3-up with wins on the next two holes. Khan closed the match with a par-4 on hole seven, the 16th hole of the day.

Freshman Trent Redfern earned Arizona's second point of the day with a 1-up win in 19 holes over Indiana's Brant Peaper. A native of Austin, Texas, Redfern and his opponent were all square through 18 holes before he won the match with a birdie-3 on hole 10, the 19th hole of the match.

The 2010 Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship was a 16-team tournament featuring the finest teams in college golf. The four-round event concluded today at the Jack Nicklaus-designed Ritz-Carlton Golf Course at Dove Mountain, a par 72, 7,833-yard layout.

This is the same facility and layout (Saguaro and Tortolita nines) that hosts the PGA Tour's Accenture Match Championships in February.

Arizona will next be in action, April 2-3, at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational in Tempe, Ariz.

2010 Callaway Collegiate Match Play ChampionshipRitz-Carlton Golf Course at Dove MountainConsolation Bracket FinalMarch 23, 2010(16) Indiana def. (14) Arizona, 3-3Alex Martin, Indiana, def. Tarquin MacManus, Arizona, 5 and 3Jonathan Khan, Arizona, def. David Erdy, Indiana, 3 and 2Chase Wright, Indiana, def. Rich Saferian, Arizona, 1-upTrent Redfern, Arizona, def. Brant Peaper, Indiana, 1-up (19 holes)Ren Han, Indiana, def. Philip Bagdade, Arizona, 1-up

Final-Day ResultsChampionship: (15) New Mexico def. (8) USC, 3-2Third-Place Match: (12) Colorado State def. (3) Texas A&M, 3-2.Fifth-Place Match: (13) Iowa def. (6) UNLV, 3-2Seventh-Place Match: (10) San Diego def. (1) Stanford, 3-2Ninth-Place Match: (16) Indiana def. (14) Arizona, 3-211th-Place Match: (5) UCLA def. (7) Texas Tech, 3-213th-Place Match: (4) Arizona State def. (2) Washington, 3-215th-Place Match: (9) TCU def. (11) Middle Tennessee State, 4-1

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder