Men's Golf Team Plays Host to 38th Annual Thunderbird Invitational

March 23, 2010

Click here for ASU Thunderbird Invitational champions and records

Click here for ASU men's golf statistics from Golfstat

The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on April 2-3 (Friday-Saturday) to the 38th annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-71, 7,057 yards). The 15 schools will play 36 holes Friday and a final round on Saturday. ASU has won seven of the past 11 (1999-2001, 2003-2004, 2008-2009) Thunderbird Invitational Tournaments and has won the tournament 14 of the past 21 years. Last year, ASU won the tournament with a 14-under 838 while Sun Devil Stephan Gross shared medalist honors with New Mexico's Steve Saunders at 3-under 210.

Live scoring will be available at

ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 15 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009). Nine times Sun Devils have won or shared the the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999), Paul Casey (2000), Alejandro Canizares (2004) and Stephan Gross (2009).

The competing schools are host Arizona State, Arizona, BYU, California, Colorado State, UC Irvine, Oregon, Oregon State, San Diego State, Stanford, UCLA, UNLV, USC, Washington and Washington State. All 10 Pac-10 schools are competing in the Thunderbird, as ASU plays host to the Pac-10 Championship April 26-28 at Karsten as well.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network