This Week in Pac-10 Women's Basketball

March 23, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader | NCAA Tournament Central

    Saturday, March 20 • First Round
    #1 Stanford 79, #16 UC Riverside 47
    Sacramento Regional • Stanford Calif.

    Sunday, March 21 • First Round
    #8 UCLA 74, #9 NC State 54
    Kansas City Regional • Minneapolis, Minn.

    Monday, March 22 • Second Round
    Stanford 96, #8 Iowa 67
    Sacramento Regional • Stanford Calif.

    Tuesday., March 23 • Second Round
    UCLA vs. #1 Nebraska • 6:35 p.m. PT (ESPN2/ESPNU)
    Kansas City Regional • Minneapolis, Minn.

    Wednesday, March 17 • First Round
    California 74, UC Davis 69 (OT)
    Arizona State 84, New Mexico State 61

    Thursday, March 18 • First Round
    Oregon 95, Eastern Washington 66

    Tuesday, March 23 • Second Round
    BYU at Arizona State, 6:30 p.m. PT
    Utah at California, 7 p.m. PT
    New Mexico at Oregon, 7 p.m. PT

    Third Round • March 20-24


    STANFORD ADVANCES TO SWEET 16, UCLA PLAYS SECOND ROUND GAME, AND THREE TEAMS PLAY WNIT GAMES: Five of the six Pac-10 women's basketball teams who earned postseason bids are still alive, including Sacramento Region No. 1-seed Stanford, who advances to the NCAA Sweet 16 with a win on Monday night. Kansas City Region No. 8-seed UCLA plays its second-round game on Tuesday night in Minneapolis. That game will tip at 6:35 p.m. PT on ESPN2 and ESPNU. Three Pac-10 squads remain alive in the WNIT, with Arizona State, California and Oregon each hosting second-round games on Tuesday.

    ROAD TO SAN ANTONIO GOES THROUGH THE PAC-10: For teams looking to get to San Antonio for the NCAA Final Four, they may have to go through Pac-10 country. Four league schools were awarded first- and second-round sites for the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship. The sites include Maples Pavilion (Stanford), Haas Pavilion (California), Bank of America West Arena (Washington) and Wells Fargo Arena (Arizona State). Each site will play its opening round games on March 20 and 22, 2010. Should the Cardinal, Golden Bears, Huskies and Sun Devils earn an NCAA Tournament bid, each is guaranteed to play on its home court for the first and second rounds.

    Sacramento's ARCO arena is also a Regional site, with the NCAA Sweet Sixteen slated for March 27 and the NCAA Elite Eight taking place March 29. The Final Four is slated to be held on April 4 and 6 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.

    APPEL NAMED FINALIST FOR NAISMITH AWARD: SR C Jayne Appel was selected one of four finalists for the prestigious Naismith Trophy, presented to the women's collegiate player of the year. She is joined on the list by Connecticut's Tina Charles and Maya Moore, and Nebraska's Kelsey Griffin.

    WBCA REGIONAL HONORS ANNOUNCED: Stanford head coach Tara VanDerveer was named the WBCA Region 8 Coach of the Year, while two of her Cardinal - Jayne Appel and Nnemkadi Ogwumike - were selected finalists for State Farm WBCA All-America honors. Also in the running for All-America honors is California's Alexis Gray-Lawson who was named a candidate from Region 8.

    NAISMITH AWARD FINALISTS ANNOUNCED: After leading her Cardinal to a perfect record in Conference play (18-0) and over 30 wins overall, head coach Tara VanDerveer was named a finalist for the Naismith National Coach of the Year finalists. California's Alexis Gray-Lawson, and Stanford's Jayne Appel and Kayla Pedersen were finalists for the Naismith All-America team and Naismith Trophy.

    GRAY-LAWSON EARNS PRESTIGOUS HONOR: California SR G Alexis Gray-Lawson was awarded the WBCA's Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, presented to the nation's top player standing 5-foot-8 and under. Gray-Lawson is the second Pac-10 player to ever earn the award and the first since Rhonda Windham of USC won it in 1987.

    - -

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    1:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network