Harvey Named MPSF Coach of the Year

March 24, 2010

MPSF Official Release

USTFCCCA Official Release

TUCSON – With the outdoor season just underway for The University of Arizona’s track and field programs, the awards for the indoor season poured in for the Wildcats with four persons affiliated with the team earning postseason accolades.


UA head coach Fred Harvey was recognized as the Women’s Coach of the Year by the Mount Pacific Sports Federation as he helped guide the Arizona women to a third place overall finish at the MPSF championships and fifteenth at the NCAA Indoor Championships just two weeks later.


Under Harvey’s guidance, the UA women nearly doubled their score from the 2009 MPSF Championships and remained in the running for the victory through the entirely of the regional meet.  Three women took home MPSF individual titles, the UA’s best haul in several years, among numerous other All-MPSF honors.  Brigetta Barrett (high jump), LaTisha Holden (60m-hurdles) and Julie Labonte (shot put) were all part of the medal haul while high jump runner-up Elizabeth Patterson would go on to win the NCAA high jump individual title in Fayetteville.


The indoor season marked an incredible turnaround for the Wildcats as they finished as the second highest ranked Pac-10 team at the NCAA Championships and had their best finish at the meet in seven years. 


The MPSF also named Patterson as its Female Athlete of the Year for her outstanding indoor performance on the season that saw her maintain the country’s best long jump mark from start to finish and earn her second career national title in the event.  Patterson went undefeated on the season in the event aside from the MPSF meet, where she fell to her teammate, Barrett, based on misses.


As if that weren’t enough, the MPSF also recognized Luis Rivera-Morales as the regions male athlete of the year.  Rivera-Morales set an indoor school record and a Mexican indoor national record in winning the MPSF Championships with his mark of 7.99m.  Rivera-Morales would go on to finish second in the triple jump at the meet and then on to earn All-American honors in finishing sixth at the NCAA Championships.  Rivera-Morales finished his career as the only jumper in UA history to hold top-five marks in the indoor and outdoor long and triple jump events.


The aforementioned names took home three of the four postseason accolades given by the MPSF, solidifying the teams all-around success at the indoor level.


Assistant coach Sheldon Blockburger continued to pad his resume during the 2010 indoor season, coaching a fifth individual to a national title in the past six years.  Blockburger, who heads the UA jumps and multi-event squad, was named as the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association as the Women’s Assistant Coach of the Year for the West Region thank to his guidance of Patterson to her second career national championship. 


Blockburger coached Patterson and Barrett to a sweep of the high jump event at the MPSF meet before guiding both to All-American performances at the NCAA Championships.  He also coached freshmen Lisa Egarter and Charlene Harber to All-MPSF finishes in the pentathlon to solidify the award.


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network