WSU Looks for Classic Performance in San Diego

March 24, 2010

What's Happening This Week: No. 16 Washington State University's varsity eight, second varsity eight and novice eight crews will compete at the 37th San Diego Crew Classic at Mission Bay...the varsity eight will be in contention for the prestigious Jessop-Whittier Cup while the second varsity eight and first novice will be in the running for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy and Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy, respectively.

The preliminary heat for the varsity eight will begin at 8:50 a.m. Saturday, March 27, and will feature WSU along with Virginia, UCLA and Villanova...the second heat at 9 a.m. will include USC, Radcliffe (Harvard), Grand Valley and UC Davis...the Whittier Cup final will begin at 9:15 a.m. Sunday, April 5.

Second varsity eight will participate in the third Hungness Trophy preliminary heat at 10:20 a.m. Saturday...the Cougar novice eight will race at 11 a.m. in the second of three heats to qualify for the Korholz Perpetual trophy grand final.

Cream of the Crop: The SDCC field includes four teams (schools are now ranked by entire team, not varsity eight) ranked in the Preseason Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association/U.S. Rowing Top-20 poll, No. 3 Virginia, No. 10 USC, No. 14 Radcliffe (Harvard) and No. 16 Washington State...Virginia, USC and Radcliffe each competed in the NCAA Tournament in 2009, placing fourth, 11th and 14th 2009 five teams from the Pacific-10 Conference competed in the SDCC, this year's race will only feature three Pac-10 teams (USC, WSU and UCLA).

WSU Head Coach Jane LaRiviere on the SDCC: 'Our goal is to make it to the grand final and then race to the best of our ability when it matters most. We can hardly wait to see competition and find out how we fare.'

San Diego Crew Classic Line-ups:
Varsity Eight: Sarah Wolff (bow), Kyann Martin, Hannah Rothstrom, Justine Galbraith, Allie Reilly, Katie Dick, Lisa Roman, Irena Neffeova (stroke), Corina Chilibeck (cox).

Second Varsity Eight: Annie Eastwood (bow), Danya Levesque, Corinna Sharick, Erica Lewis, Erika Jorgensen, Sarah Powell, Christina Kinck, Natasha Ostopovich (stroke), Lexi Ryman (cox).

Novice Eight: Erin Ranney (bow), Jessica Start, Stephanie Hinkle, Alison Smith, Jennifer Hale, Josie Lallemand, Rachel Snodgrass, Brianne Gould (stroke), Heidi Kim (cox).

The 2009 SDCC: WSU advanced the varsity eight and novice eight to the grand finals...varsity eight went on to finish sixth (6:52.25) in the Whittier Cup Grand Final, with Michigan taking home the trophy...novice eight placed third (7:28.87) behind second-place Oregon State and Korholz Perpetual Trophy winner, Washington...second varsity eight finished third (7:03.03) in its preliminary heat, which was one place shy of advancing to the grand final, in which Washington captured the Hungness Trophy.

The SDCC: April of 1973 featured the inaugural San Diego Crew Classic...event was created by two local rowing clubs, San Diego Rowing Club and the ZLAC Rowing Club for women...first competition featured nine considered one of the premier regattas in the United States...rowers will follow a 2,000 meter course along Mission Bay beginning near Sea World and ending at Crown Points Shores...the event attracts more than 3,400 athletes from more than 100 clubs across the United States and has been considered a competitive site for both future and current Olympians...more information can be found at

Last Week/Up Next: The Cougars held Class Day Races, March 20, as a final tune-up for the San Diego Crew Classic...the Cougars will return to action April 10, to square off with No.6 Washington at Montlake Cut in Seattle...races are scheduled to start at 8 a.m.

Follow the Cougs: This weekend's San Diego Crew Classic will be streamed live at Cougars can be followed all season long via the WSU Rowing blog, Tales from the visit the blog click HERE.

Preseason CRCA/U.S. Rowing Division I Top-20 Poll
(1st place votes)
1. Yale (6)
2. Stanford (16)
3. California (1)
3. Virginia (2)
5. Brown
6. Washington
7. Michigan State
8. Princeton
9. Michigan
10. Ohio State
10. USC
12. Clemson
13. Wisconsin
14. Harvard
15. Oregon State
16. Washington State
17. Dartmouth
18. Iowa
19. Louisville
19. Minnesota
19. Tennessee
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder