Vote For Cats on CWS Legends Team

March 25, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. – Five former Arizona baseball players have the opportunity to be voted by fans to a College World Series Legends team, which will be recognized at the 2010 College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska, in June.

Among the former players Arizona fans can vote for are Alan Hall (catcher, 1958-60), Terry Francona (outfield, 1979-80), Craig Lefferts (pitcher, 1979-80), Charles Shoemaker (1959-60) and Steve Powers (DH, 1976).

The 2010 College World Series will be the 60th and final one played at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska. To commemorate this special year, the NCAA is asking baseball fans to help select the CWS Legends Team. The Legends Team will represent those student-athletes who had the best CWS performances in the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium. The team will include two student-athletes per fielding position, four pitchers, two designated hitters, three head coaches and two 'utility players'.

Voting is currently under way. Click here to vote for the Wildcat players!


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network