UCLA Clinches Pac-10 Title

March 27, 2010

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. –The Pacific 10 Gymnastics Championship kicked off with excitement and competitive action Saturday afternoon at the McKale Center.  All seven teams battled through four events, but it was the UCLA Bruins who came up big in the end with 197.350 points to win their 15th conference championship and their second consecutive title.  Stanford came in a close second with a score of 196.550 followed by Oregon State who earned a 195.950.


The Arizona GymCats were barely edged out of third place to secure the fourth spot with a score of 195.875.  Following close behind were Washington, California and Arizona State with scores of 193.825, 191.475 and 190.775, respectively.


In the vault rotation, UCLA’s Vanessa Zamarripa finished in first place with an impressive score of 9.950.  Oregon State’s Mani Rodriguez finished in second with a score of 9.900 to earn second.  Third place came down to a tie between Arizona’s Deanna Graham and UCLA’s Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs.  Both gymnasts earned a score of 9.875.  


On the uneven bears, UCLA’s Anna Li's unmatched performance allowed her to clinch first place with the only perfect score of 10.000 of the night.  Second and third place went to Oregon State's gymnasts Leslie Mak with a 9.950 and Lauren Ann Chong with a 9.875.


On the floor exercise, UCLA’s Britnie Mccullough and Stanford’s Carly Janiga tied for first place with a remarkable 9.925 finish and Oregon State’s Makayla Stambaugh finished with a 9.900.


Oregon State’s Lauren Ann Chong finished in first place on the beam with a 9.950 and Vanessa Zamarripa and teammate Mizuki Sato tied for second with a notable score of 9.900.


In the All-Around UCLA’s Vanessa Zamarripa finished in first place with 39.575 points.  Stanford’s Carly Janiga's 39.500 was enough to earn her second place and Allyse Ishino finished in third with 39.300 points.  


UCLA's final score of 197.350 is the highest total team score of all of the confernece championships so far this year.  The next closest score goes to the SEC Champions; the University of Florida with a score of 197.05.


Pac-10 Awards were handed out after the meet.  Oregon State’s head coach Tanya Chaplin earned her fourth Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor.  Freshman of the Year went to Makayla Stambaugh of Oregon State and Gymnast of the Year went to UCLA’s Vanessa Zamarripa.     


Order of Finish:

1. 197.350 UCLA

2. 196.550 Stanford

3. 195.950 Oregon State

4. 195.875 Arizona

5. 193.825 Washington

6. 191.475 California

7. 190.775 Arizona State


Individual Results


1. Vanessa Zamarripa-UCLA 9.950

2. Mandi Rodriguez-Oregon State 9.900

3. Deanna Graham-UA 9.875

3. Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs-UCLA 9.875


Uneven Bars:

1. Anna Li-UCLA 10.000

2. Leslie Mak-Oregon State 9.950

3. Lauren Ann Chong-Oregon State 9.875


Floor Exercise:

1. Britnie McCullough-UCLA 9.925

1. Carly Janiga-Stanford 9.925

3. Makayla Stambaugh-Oregon State 9.900  



1. Lauren Ann Chong-Oregon State 9.950

2. Vanessa Zamarripa-UCLA 9.900

2. Mizuki Sato-UCLA 9.900 



1. Vanessa Zamarripa-UCLA 39.575

2. Carly Janiga-Stanford 39.5

3. Allyse Ishino-Stanford 39.3


Pac-10 Accolades

Coach of the Year: Tanya Chaplin, OSU

Freshman of the Year: Makayla Stambaugh, OSU

Gymnast of the Year: Vanessa Zamarripa, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network