USC Advances Four Boats To Grand Finals At San Diego Crew Classic

March 27, 2010

The No. 10 USC women's rowing team opened the 37th annual San Diego Crew Classic in strong fashion, advancing four boats to grand finals on Saturday (March 27) in Mission Bay, Calif.

Troy's first varsity of cox Dionne Licudine, 
Ivana Filipovic, 
Liene Bertasjus, Lenka Vrecnikova
, Helen Tinkus, Anna Weirzbowska, 
Maria Wilgotsson, 
Iskra Angelova
 and Ewa Tymoszewska

 won its heat in 6:44.2 and will compete in the grand final at 9:15 a.m. on Sunday. Joining USC is Virginia, Washington State, UCLA, Grand Valley and Radcliffe.

USC's second varsity led most of its race but finished second in its heat in 6:56.72, edged by Virginia B's 6:56.41. The team of cox Tanya Ouyang
, Marlena Adamska
, Anna Janicka, Ewelina Nowak, 
Jelena Zelenovic
, Gaby Zarate De Macedo
, Magda Janicka
, Carin Andersson
 and Kinga Mikolajczyk

 will compete for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy with two Virginia boats as well as Washington State, UCLA and Radcliffe at 9:40 a.m.

In the 

Open/Club boat division, USC won its heat 24 seconds. The squad of cox Lisa Kolstad, Caroline Sederowsky, 
Kate McFetridge
, Jana Vyhnankova
, Andrea Vehovec, 
Emily Hacker, 
Laura Pomatto, Megan Berry 
and Lauren Smolenski won in 7:37.30 and will compete for the Carley Cup at 11 a.m. against UC Santa Barbara, UCLA, Villanova, Trinity and Lincoln Park

USC's novice eight of cox Jennah Blau, Rachel Moll
, Karley Kirk, 
Barbra Romer
, Hannah Bowen, Cailin McLennan, 
Anne Turner, 
Andrea Oaxaca and Melanie Grindle
 won in 7:32.40 and will face UCLA, Washington State, Minnesota, Oklahoma and Sacramento State in the final at 10 a.m.

USC's alumni eight also won its race in the Masters A event.

For a full schedule and results, click here. For more information on the event, click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network