Novice Eight Earns First-Place Finish

March 28, 2010

PULLMAN, Wash. - Led by the novice eight winning the Korholz Perpetual Trophy grand final, the No. 16 Washington State University women's rowing team combined for three top-four finishes at the San Diego Crew Classic Sunday. The Cougars were in the hunt all weekend with No. 3 Virginia, and despite being ranked two places behind No. 14 Harvard (Radcliffe) in the preseason CRCA/U.S. Rowing Division I Top-20 Poll both the WSU varsity eight and second varsity eight finished in front of Harvard in the grand finals Sunday.

For the second time this weekend the Cougar novice eight (Erin Ranney - bow, Jessica Start, Stephanie Hinkle, Alison Smith, Jennifer Hale, Josie Lallemand, Rachel Snodgrass, Brianne Gould - stroke, Heidi Kim - cox) finished first, on Sunday winning the Korholz Perpetual Trophy with a time of 7:17.20. The novice eight finished approximately five seconds ahead of second-place UCLA, and more than 15 seconds faster than it did on Saturday. WSU head coach Jane LaRiviere and her team love to win, but recognize that there is a lot of work still to do.

'We know what we have to fix, but I was happy with all the races,' said LaRiviere.

The Cougar varsity eight (Sarah Wolff - bow, Kyann Martin, Hannah Rothstrom, Justine Galbraith, Allie Reilly, Katie Dick, Lisa Roman, Irena Neffeova - stroke, Corina Chilibeck - cox) earned a fourth-place finish in the Jessop-Whittier Cup grand final, with a time of 6:44.06. Virginia finished first in the race, with a time of 6:34.20, followed by second-place USC and third-place UCLA. UCLA edged out WSU by less than three seconds for third-place.

Second varsity eight (Annie Eastwood - bow, Danya Levesque, Corinna Sharick, Erica Lewis, Erika Jorgensen, Sarah Powell, Christina Kinck, Natasha Ostopovich - stroke, Lexi Ryman - cox) finished third in the Hungness Trophy grand final, with a time of 6:53.0. The WSU crew finished less than two seconds in front of the Virginia B boat which finished in front of WSU on Saturday, and finished less than three seconds behind second-place USC. Virginia A won the Hungness Trophy with a time of 6:50.0.

After a one week break from racing, the Cougars will be back on the water against Washington April 10 at 8 a.m., at Montlake Cut in Seattle.

San Diego Crew Classic Results
March 28, 2010

Day 2

Women's Collegiate Varsity Invitational
Jessop-Whittier Cup Grand Final

1. Virginia 6:34.20
2. USC 6:37.48
3. UCLA 6:41.95
4. Washington State 6:44.06
5. Radcliffe 6:53.33
6. Grand Valley 6:58.20

Women's Collegiate JV
Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy Grand Final

1. Virginia A 6:50.0
2. USC 6:50.25
3. Washington State 6:53.0
4. Virginia B 6:54.89
5. UCLA 6:57.07
6. Radcliffe 6:59.54

Women's Collegiate Novice
Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy Grand Final
1. Washington State 7:17.20

2. UCLA 7:22.45
3. Oklahoma 7:27.76
4. Minnesota 7:28.31
5. Sacramento State 7:38.97
6. USC 7:39.40
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder