Gymnasts Assigned to Missouri Regional as Second Seed

March 29, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Oregon State has qualified to the 2010 Columbia Regional Women's Gymnastics Championships to be held April 10 at the University of Missouri the NCAA office announced Monday afternoon. Teams qualifying to the Columbia Regional field follow: No. 5 Georgia, No. 8 Oregon State, No. 15 Missouri, No. 25 Minnesota, No. 30 Iowa and No. 36 North Carolina.

The competition begins at 6 p.m. CT on April 10 and features six of the top 36 teams in the nation. At-large all-around competitors and event specialists will join the various teams as assigned. The top two teams in the meet will advance to the NCAA Championships hosted by the University of Florida, April 22-24.

The top 18 teams were seeded on a national basis, based on Regional Qualifying Score (RQS). Teams 19-36 were assigned to a regional site based on geographic proximity. All-around competitors and event specialists were assigned within their respective regions.

'We're excited to be assigned to the Columbia Regional,' head coach Tanya Chaplin said. 'Having made the trip to Missouri last season and we're familiar with the venue so we expect that to be an advantage. This time of year is always an exciting time with the postseason waiting beginning. We anticipate needing to be at the top of our game to continue our season at the NCAA Championships later in the month.'

The NCAA office conducted a draw to determine the rotation order for the competition, which follows: Missouri begins on vault, Minnesota begins on a bye before uneven bars, North Carolina begins on bars, Iowa begins on beam, Georgia begins on a bye before floor exercise and Oregon State begins on floor.

Individual all-around qualifiers for the 2010 Columbia Regional Championships are: Rashonda Cannie (Northern Illinois), Rachel Montoya (Illinois-Chicago), Jordan Salsberg (SE Missouri State), Erica Schick (Illinois State) and Rikara Turner (SE Missouri State).

Individual event at-large qualifiers are: Hannah Deutsch (Illinois State) on beam; Brianna Gaddie (SE Missouri State) on floor; Ashley Guerra (Northern Illinois) on bars; and Chantel Turk (Illinois-Chicago) on vault.

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder