No. 23 GymDawgs Selected For NCAA Regionals In Salt Lake

March 29, 2010

SEATTLE - The No. 23 Washington gymnastics squad was one of 36 teams selected Monday to compete in the 2010 NCAA Gymnastics Regionals, with the Huskies heading to the Salt Lake City regional hosted by the University of Utah, Saturday, April 10 at 5 p.m. PT.

The Huskies are coming off a fifth-place finish in the Pac-10 Championships, one of the toughest conferences in the country. The conference will send six of the seven schools with gymnastics teams to the NCAAs, with UCLA and Stanford each earning No. 1 seeds. UCLA will host a regional while Stanford heads to West Virginia. Oregon State, meanwhile, earned a No. 2 seed and will travel to Columbia, Mo., while Arizona and Arizona State will head to the UCLA regional.

The Huskies join host Utah and No. 1 seed Florida in Salt Lake City, along with Auburn, Boise State and Denver. Florida is ranked No. 4 nationally, Utah is No. 10 and Auburn is No. 16. Boise State and Denver are also ranked in the top-25, coming in at No. 19 and No. 22, respectively. The Huskies have already faced Utah this season, falling 195.850-194.650 in late January in Seattle.

UW, Utah and Boise State were all at the same site last year as well when the Huskies hosted regionals. Utah won the meet while the Huskies finished fifth and Boise State took third.

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Gainesville, Florida, April 22-24, hosted by the University of Florida.

In addition, the event winners at the regional championships will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

For more information regarding the National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships, log on to

Below is the complete field for the 2010 NCAA Gymnastics Regionals:

Salt Lake City Regional - Utah (University of Utah, host)
1. Florida
2. Utah
3. Auburn
4. Boise State
5. Denver
6. Washington

Los Angeles Regional - California (University of California, Los Angeles, host)
2. Arkansas
3. Iowa State
4. Arizona
5. Brigham Young
6. Arizona State

Columbia Regional - Missouri (University of Missouri, Columbia, host)
1. Georgia
2. Oregon State
3. Missouri
4. Minnesota
5. Iowa
6. North Carolina

Lexington Regional - Kentucky (University of Kentucky, host)
1. Alabama
2. Nebraska
3. Illinois
4. Kentucky
5. Central Michigan
6. Michigan State

University Park Regional - Pennsylvania (Pennsylvania State University, host)
1. Oklahoma
2. LSU
3. Penn State
4. Maryland
5. Ohio State
6. New Hampshire

Morgantown Regional - West Virginia (West Virginia University, host)
1. Stanford
2. Michigan
3. Southern Utah
4. North Carolina State
5. Kent State
6. West Virginia

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network