No. 11 Baylor Edges No. 7 Stanford 4-3 To Snag Fourth Annual HP Cup

March 30, 2010

STANFORD, Calif.- No. 11 Baylor rallied after losing the doubles point and posted a 4-3 victory over No. 7 Stanford to capture the fourth annual HP Cup on Tuesday afternoon at the Taube Family Tennis Stadium.

The Bears (16-3, 0-0 Big 12) improved to 10-0 all-time against the Cardinal (11-4, 1-0 Pac-10) and 4-0 in matches to decide the HP Cup, a home-and-home series showcasing the two perennial nationally-ranked programs. Hewlett Packard Company's CEO, Mark Hurd, was a letterwinner on the Baylor men's tennis team during the 1970's.

Stanford had entered the contest riding its second four-match winning streak of the year, while Baylor was surging as well having won 10 of its last 11 overall.

The outlook was promising for Stanford early on, with the Cardinal locking up wins at the Nos. 1 and 3 spots in doubles to take a 1-0 advantage. After the Bears tallied an 8-0 win at the No. 2 position, the Cardinal's team of Denis Lin and Matt Kandath collected an 8-4 victory on court three.

The nation's top-ranked team of Bradley Klahn and Ryan Thacher then registered an 8-5 win at the lineup's top spot to secure the doubles point for Stanford. The Cardinal's top duo improved to 27-3 overall, 10-1 in duals and extended their winning streak to 11 matches.

But it also marked the second time this season the Cardinal won the doubles point but failed to close out the match.

Victories from Dominik Mueller and Jordan Rux put Baylor in front 2-1, only to see Klahn tie the match up at 2-2 with a 7-6 (3), 6-3 triumph over Denes Lukacs in a battle of players at the No. 1 spot.

Baylor then moved ahead 3-2 following a gritty 6-1, 7-6 (5) win by Roberto Maytin on court five over Richard Wire.

Two matches remained, with split sets on court three and Stanford clinging to a one-set edge on court six.

The clincher was provided shortly thereafter by Attila Bucko at the No. 3 spot, outlasting Ryan Thacher 6-2, 4-6, 6-4.

Greg Hirshman prevailed 7-5, 7-6 (5) at the No. 6 spot, keeping Stanford unbeaten in 14 matches this year at the lowest spot of the singles lineup.

Stanford now prepares for a crucial road trip, facing No. 4 USC (Friday, Apr. 2 - 1:30 p.m.) and No. 9 UCLA (Saturday, Apr. 3 - 1 p.m.).

No. 11 Baylor 4, No. 7 Stanford 3


1) No. 1 Klahn/Thacher (STAN) d. Bucko/Rux (BAY) 8-5
2) Lukacs/Maytin (BAY) d. No. 31 Clayton/Wire (STAN) 8-0
3) Lin/Matt Kandath (STAN) d. Bley/Maros Horny (BAY) 8-4
Order of Finish: 2, 3, 1


1) No. 5 Bradley Klahn (STAN) d. No. 19 Denes Lukacs (BAY) 7-6 (3), 6-3
2) No. 32 Jordan Rux (BAY) d. No. 45 Alex Clayton (STAN) 6-3, 6-3
3) No. 109 Attila Bucko (BAY) d. No. 93 Ryan Thacher (STAN) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
4) Roberto Maytin (BAY) d. Richard Wire (STAN) 6-1, 7-6 (5)
5) Dominik Mueller (BAY) d. Denis Lin (STAN) 6-4, 6-1
6) Greg Hirshman (STAN) d. Julian Bley (BAY) 7-5, 7-6 (5)
Order of Finish: 5, 2, 1, 4, 3, 6

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder