Morrison Third after First Day of Texas Relays Decathlon

March 31, 2010

AUSTIN, Texas - Cal junior Mike Morrison stands in third place with 4,041 points after the first day of competition in the decathlon at the Texas Relays. Oregon's Ashton Eaton, the defending NCAA champion, leads the field of 18 with 4,494 points, followed by Texas A&M's Trinity Otto (4,187) and Morrison.

Morrison began his day in the 83rd annual relays with a time of 10.79 seconds in the 100 meters, which was good for 908 points, his highest total of the afternoon. The runners were boosted by a strong tailwind that measured 3.4 meters per second.

In the long jump, Morrison came through on his third attempt with a best of 23-11.00 to take third behind Eaton and Otto. Morrison's top mark in the shot put was on his first throw when he registered a distance of 40-10.25, seventh among the competitors.

In the fourth event of the day, Morrison was fifth in the high jump with a PR 6-5.00. He progressed through 6-0.50 without a miss. At the next two heights (6-1.50 and 6-2.75), he narrowly remained in the competition by clearing the bar on his third attempts. Morrison then leapt 6-4 and his final 6-5 on his first tries at the height before dropping out at 6-6.25.

Morrison wrapped up the afternoon with a season-best 49.25 in the 400 meters, training only Eaton's 47.06.

Morrison, in his first season with the Bears after transferring from Florida, recently placed third in the indoor heptathlon at the NCAA championships with a school record 5,826. He owns a PR of 7,803 points in the decathlon, set in 2008.

Texas Relays Decathlon Results
March 31, 2010, Austin, Texas

100 meters - 4. Mike Morrison 10.79 (908 points)
Long Jump - 3. Mike Morrison 23-11.00 (7.29m) (883 points)
Shot Put - 7. Mike Morrison 40-10.25 (12.45m) (634 points)
High Jump - 5. Mike Morrison 6-5.00 (1.96m) (767 points)
400 meters - 2. Mike Morrison 49.25 (849 points)

Standings after 5 Events: 1. Ashton Eaton (Oregon) 4494; 2. Trinity Otto (Texas A&M) 4187; 3. Mike Morrison (California) 4041; 4. Wesley Bray (Houston) 3862; 5. Robert Robinson (Cal State Northridge) 3816; 6. Aaron King (Connecticut) 3806; 6. Sean Smith (Connecticut) 3806; 8. Isaac Murphy (Texas) 3742; 9. Richard York (New Mexico) 3703; 10. Lance Gonzales (Cal State Northridge) 3627; 11. Terry Prentice (Arkansas) 3597; 12. Matthew Johnson (Sam Houston State) 3579; 13. Jordan Wehr (North Texas) 3529; 14. Marshall Ackley (Oregon) 3524; 15. Kyle Kaase (Texas-San Antonio) 3471; 16. Matt Kirbos (Arkansas) 3337; 17. Daniel Gooris (Northern Iowa) 3317; 18. Brian Wilson (New Mexico) 3252; Cory Roberts (SE Louisiana) DNF.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder