Wrestling Garners Two Conference Top Honors

April 1, 2010

Walnut Creek, Calif. – Redshirt freshman Mike Mangrum (Auburn, Wash.) was named the Pac-10 Newcomer/Freshman of the Year and head coach Jim Zalesky was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the 2009-10 season, announced Thursday by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.


During the 2009-10 season, Mangrum was the only freshman from the conference to advance to NCAA Round of 12, just one win away from earning All-America status. He earned three victories at the NCAA Championships to finish the season with a 32-12. Mangrum tallied six major decisions, four technical falls and four falls during the season for a 16-5 dual meet record and 16-7 tournament record. His 32 wins is tied for third most in program history for a freshman, tying with Babak Mohammadi (1991). He was named the D1CollegeWrestling.net Pac-10 Freshman of the Year on Tuesday.


Zalesky tallies his second Pac-10 title, fifth career conference title, while this marks his first Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor. He led the Beavers to an 18-3 dual meet record, tying his career high for most dual meet wins in a single season. Zalesky produced his 25th conference champion in junior Colby Covington (Springfield, Ore.) at 174 pounds, fifth Pac-10 Conference individual champion.


With a record of 55-21 at Oregon State, Zalesky led the Beavers to their highest ranking (No. 14 on Feb. 9) since the 2001 season when the team was ranked No. 13. Zalesky joins Joe Wells (1994, 1995), Mark Johnson (1992) and Dale Thomas (1976, 1977, 1983, 1984) as former Oregon State coaches to garner Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors. 

Boise State’s Kirk Smtih was named the Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an everyday champion.  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder