Four Pac-10 Women's Basketball Players Receive Numerous National Recognitions

April 2, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- A number of postseason accolades have been released this week and several Pac-10 women's basketball players are featured among the honorees. Among those recognized are Stanford SR C Jayne Appel and SO F Nnemkadi Ogwumike, who are featured on all the awards and finalists lists.

Jayne Appel (Pleasant Hill, Calif.) and Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Cypress, Texas) earned All-American nods from the Associated Press and the John R. Wooden Award. The duo were named to the AP's second team and were among the five-member Wooden All-American squad, presented by the Los Angeles Athletic Club. Along with Connecticut's Tina Charles and Maya Moore, and Nebraska's Kelsey Griffin, Appel and Ogwumike are invited to the Wooden Award Gala on April 9, where the John R. Wooden Award winner will be announced.

Also earning recognition from the AP were California's Alexis Gray-Lawson (Oakland, Calif.) and Stanford's Kayla Pedersen (Fountain Hills, Ariz.) who were honorable mention selections.

The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) also released its 10-member All-America squad, with Appel and Ogwumike earning a spot on the team. Appel was named to the USBWA All-America squad for the second-straight year.

Appel, Ogwumike and Gray-Lawson were selected as finalists for the State Farm/WBCA All-America team. The 10-member squad and the State Farm/WBCA Wade Trophy winner will be announced in San Antonio, Texas, site of the 2010 NCAA Women's Basketball Final Four, on Saturday, April 3. Appel and Ogwumike are also finalists for the Wade Trophy.

The trio of Appel, Gray-Lawson and Ogwumike also recently received regional honors from the WBCA (Women's Basketball Coaches Association), garnering Region 8 All-American nods, while Stanford head coach Tara VanDerveer was selected the WBCA Region 8 Coach of the Year.

Also recently announced were the Naismith Award finalists. Appel, Gray-Lawson and Pedersen were among the short list for the Naismith Award, a national player of the year honor presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The ATC also named Van Derveer a finalist for the Naismith Coach of the Year award. The winner of both awards will be announced at the WBCA Awards Luncheon on April 5 in San Antonio.

Appel, Ogwumike, Pedersen and VanDerveer have led the Cardinal to a third-straight NCAA Final Four appearance and play Oklahoma on Sunday, April 4. Gray-Lawson has led her squad to the finals of the WNIT, which will be played in Berkeley, Calif., on Saturday, April 3 against Miami.

For more information on the WBCA honors, visit; the Naismith Award, visit; and the John R. Wooden Award at



Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network