Newell's 1960 U.S. Olympic Team Named to Naismith Hall of Fame

April 5, 2010

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday that the gold-medalist 1960 U.S. Men's Olympic Team, coached by former Cal head coach Pete Newell and featuring Golden Bear All-America center Darrall Imhoff, will join the 1992 'Dream Team' and eight individuals to form its Enshrinement Class of 2010.

The Class of 2010 will be enshrined at the Springfield Symphony Hall on August 13, following a week of festivities in Springfield, Mass., to be staged August 7-13, 2010. The announcement was made at a press conference in Indianapolis at the site of the 2010 NCAA Final Four.

The 1960 U.S. Olympic team compiled an 8-0 record at the Rome Olympics and won its games by an average margin of 24 points. Ten players went on to play in the NBA and six team members have already been enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, including coaches Newell and Dutch Lonborg. The Hall of Fame players from the '60 team include Walt Bellamy, Jerry Lucas, Oscar Robertson and Jerry West.

Newell was Cal's head coach from 1955-60 and guided the Bears to four straight conference titles (1957-60), the 1959 NCAA title and a runner-up finish in 1960. Newell also served at Cal's Director of Athletics from 1960-68.

For his accomplishments on the world stage, Coach Newell, who died Nov. 17, 2009, at the age of 93 after a long illness, was also inducted into the FIBA International Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2009.

Center Darrall Imhoff was a two-time Cal All-American before he played for the 1960 Olympic champions. He was subsequently a two-time NBA All-Star.

Newell and Imhoff, whose Cal jersey was retired in 2009 to honor the two-time All-American and 12-year NBA veteran who played in two All-Star Games, are both members of the Cal Athletic Hall of Fame, as well.

The other inductees into the Naismith Hall of Fame's Class of 2010 include Jerry Buss, Cynthia Cooper, Bob Hurley, Sr., Karl Malone and Scottie Pippen, along with three players receiving posthumous honors: Dennis Johnson, Gus Johnson and international star Maciel 'Ubiratan' Pereira.

To be elected, finalists required 18 of 24 votes from the Hall's Honors Committee.

Click here for the complete release from USA Basketball.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network