Teri McKeever Tabbed as U.S. Head Coach for Pan Pacific Championships

April 6, 2010

BERKELEY - California head coach Teri McKeever was named the U.S. women's head coach for the 2010 Mutual of Omaha Pan Pacific Championships, USA Swimming announced Tuesday. The international meet will take place from Aug. 18-22 at the William Woolett, Jr., Aquatic Center in Irvine, Calif. This year's event, which will feature top swimmers from the United States, Australia, Canada and Japan, marks the first time in 15 years that the United States will host the elite international competition.

McKeever will serve as the Pan Pacific Championships women's head coach for the second time, following her head coaching stint for the U.S. women's team in 2006. She is a two-time Olympic assistant coach (2004 and 2008) and a three-time U.S. assistant coach at the FINA Long Course World Championships (2003, 2005 and 2007).

As the head coach at Cal, McKeever was named the 2009 NCAA Women's Coach of the Year after leading the Golden Bears' to their first NCAA team championship. McKeever became the first woman coach to be credited with an NCAA swimming and diving team title. She also earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year distinction after leading the Bears to their first Pac-10 team title in 2009. In the recently completed 2009-10 season, McKeever led the Bears to third place at the NCAA Championships and second place at the conference meet.

USA Swimming also named Florida's Gregg Troy the U.S. men's head coach for the Pan Pacific Championships.

'Teri and Gregg are without question two of the best swimming coaches in the nation,' said Mark Schubert, USA Swimming's national team head coach and general manager. 'As highly decorated NCAA coaches with a depth of international experience, our pool team could not ask for better leadership at the year's most important international competition.'

The 2010 U.S. Mutual of Omaha Pan Pacific Championships team will be selected from performances at the 2010 ConocoPhillips National Championships held in Irvine from Aug. 3-7.

The Pan Pacific Swimming Championships are held under the oversight of the Pan Pacific Swimming Association. The Association was established in the mid 1980s and is made up of the four founding swimming federations - Swimming Australia, Swimming Canada, the Japan Amateur Swimming Federations and USA Swimming. These charter nations developed the concept of a biennial swimming competition to provide their national teams with first-class international competition between the two major international swimming competitions - the Olympic Games and the FINA World Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network