Haber, Gerhart Named Top-25 Player Of The Year Candidates

April 7, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior Alissa Haber and freshman Teagan Gerhart were both selected among the 25 finalists for USA Softball's Collegiate Player of the Year award, announced today by the Amateur Softball Association of America. The duo is two of the 25 remaining contenders for collegiate softball's top annual honor.

The top-25 list represents 20 schools and seven different NCAA Division I conferences, with Haber and Gerhart being two of the eight picks from the Pac-10. Stanford was one of five teams to have two players named to the list. Gerhart was one of seven freshmen to earn a spot among the top 25.

The 25 finalists announced today are the only players remaining in contention for the 2010 award.

Haber, a senior outfielder, is a three-time All-American who has led the Cardinal in nearly every offensive category for the last three years. Through her first three seasons at Stanford, her career batting average (.395) ranks second only to two-time Olympian Jessica Mendoza. This season, the Newark, Calif., native is leading the team with a .481 average, while registering 50 hits, including 11 doubles, two triples and five home runs. She also has 25 RBI and 13 stolen bases.

Gerhart, a true freshman, is second in nation with 20 wins and she holds a 1.35 ERA. She leads the Pac-10 with 166.0 innings pitched and is just 10 strikeouts away from breaking into the top-10 Stanford's single season strikeout list. The Norco, Calif., native has already thrown a perfect game and three consecutive no-hitters for the Cardinal. She has also been productive offensively, of her eight hits; five have been for extra bases. She has tallied three doubles and two home runs, including a grand slam, and eight RBI.

A list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 12 and the final three will be announced May 26. The winner of the 2010 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year award will be announced prior to the start of the Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

The award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher and Washington's Danielle Lawrie.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder