Maurer and Smit Honored by Pac-10

April 7, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Stanford senior Julia Smit and coach Lea Maurer were honored by the Pac-10 Conference offices on Wednesday as the conference's swimmer and coach of the year.

Stanford, which were runners-up at the NCAA Championships last month, won its first conference title since 2005. Stanford finished off a perfect regular season at 9-0 as well.

Smit, the Honda Sports Award winner for swimming, broke her own American, NCAA and school-records in the 200 and 400 individual medleys at the Pac-10 Championships and won her third NCAA title in each event two weeks later. Smit also set the world record in the shortcourse of both events in December 2009, and was named the Pac-10's Swimmer of the Month all four months of the season. Smit finished her career with five individual school records and was a 26-time All-American.

Smit is the 10th Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year since 1988 for the Cardinal, joining the likes of Janet Evans (1990), Summer Sanders (1991-92) and Jenny Thompson (1995). She is the Cardinal's first winner since Caroline Bruce in 2005.

Maurer, in her fifth season at the helm, was named the conference's coach of the year for the first time in her career. It is the sixth honor for the program since 1987. The senior class, which included Smit and NCAA butterfly champion Elaine Breeden, posted a 46-1 (.978) dual record throughout their four-year careers.

Pac-10 Swimmers of the Year
1988 Jenna Johnson
1989 Michelle Griglione
1990 Janet Evans
1991 Summer Sanders
1992 Summer Sanders
1995 Jenny Thompson (co-winner)
1998 Misty Hyman
2004 Tara Kirk
2005 Caroline Bruce
2010 Julia Smit

Pac-10 Swimming Coach of the Year
1987 George Haines
1989 Richard Quick
1992 Richard Quick
1995 Richard Quick
2001 Richard Quick
2010 Lea Maurer

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder