24 Bears Earn MSPF All-Academic Recognition

April 8, 2010

BERKELEY - A total of 24 student-athletes have earned Academic All-MPSF honors for the 2010 indoor track & field season, the conference office announced Thursday, with 13 Golden Bear men and 11 Cal women securing the honor.

To qualify for the team, student-athletes must have at least a 3.0 GPA and have completed one full academic year at their institution.

Sophomore distance runner Matt Miller led the men's squad with a 3.794 GPA. Others to claim a spot on the team were sophomore Aaron Burney, junior Michael Coe, senior Yosef Ghebray, sophomore Ryan Holmes, junior Kari Karlsson, junior Patrick Kowalsky, junior Kevin Kuechler, senior Mark Matusak, senior Miles Palacios, senior Kellan Patterson, sophomore Sebastian Sam and senior Ryan Shuler.

Sophomore Deborah Maier, the MPSF champion in the 3000 meters, had the highest GPA among the women at 3.771. She was joined on the team by junior Kayla Dixon, sophomore Taylor Dutch, junior Cyrena Giordano, junior Alison Greggor, redshirt-freshman Amanda Hunter, senior Mercedes Marchbanks, sophomore Linda Oseso, junior Theresa Raub, sophomore Chelsea Reilly and junior Allison Stokke.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/20 | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder