Two Pac-10 Women's Basketball Players Taken in 2010 WNBA Draft

April 8, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Stanford’s Jayne Appel and California’s Alexis Gray-Lawson were selected in the 2010 WNBA Draft held Thursday afternoon in Secaucus, N.J. Appel was taken No. 5 overall by the San Antonio Silver Stars, while Gray-Lawson was taken in the third round (30th pick overall) by the Washington Mystics.

A center out of Pleasant Hill, Calif., Jayne Appel led the Cardinal to its third-straight trip to the NCAA Final Four earlier this week, advancing to the national title game for the second time in three years. Appel is a two-time Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-American. She was also named second team All-American by the Associated Press this season. Appel broke the Pac-10’s all-time rebounding record, formerly held by USC legend Lisa Leslie. A three-time All-Pac-10 selection and the 2009 Pac-10 Player of the Year, she leaves Palo Alto with 1,263 rebounds and 2,125 points to rank eighth all-time in the Conference.

Alexis Gray-Lawson (Oakland, Calif.) led the Golden Bears to their first-ever WNIT crown last week and helped Cal advance to the program’s first-ever NCAA Sweet Sixteen last year. Gray-Lawson is a two-time Honorable Mention AP All-American, including this season. A three-time All-Pac-10 pick and the 2006 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, she leaves Berkeley ranked 14th all-time in scoring in the Conference. Gray-Lawson is the second-ever Golden Bear drafted.

Appel and Gray-Lawson selections comes after three Pac-10 players were selected in the 2009 WNBA Draft. Among those picked were Arizona State’s Briann January (6th overall, Indiana Fever) and California’s Ashley Walker (12th overall, Seattle Storm). The Pac-10 has a long tradition of outstanding WNBA players, including three-time WNBA All-Star MVP Leslie (USC), four-time WNBA Champions Tina Thompson (USC) and Cynthia Cooper (USC), and four-time All-American and 2009 State Farm/Wade Trophy national player of the year Candice Wiggins (Stanford).

Preseason competition begins May 4 with the Silver Stars hosting the Chinese National Team. The Mystics’ preseason slate begins May 5 as they host the New York Liberty. The regular-season schedule begins May 15.

For a look at the full draft board, visit For more information on the Washington Mystics, visit and for more information on the San Antonio Silverstars, log onto


- -