Klay Thompson Adds USBWA Accolades

April 12, 2010

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Washington State University sophomore Klay Thompson has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District IX Team, the organization announced.

Thompson becomes the first Cougar to earn the honor since Kyle Weaver was named to the USBWA District IX Team in 2008. Derrick Low picked up the accolades as a junior in 2007. The organization divides all Division I schools into nine districts. District IX is made up of all Division I schools in California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona and Alaska and has a 10-man team, along with player and coach of the year.

Thompson is one of five Pacific-10 Conference student-athletes on the team and one of four players from a Washington school. He is joined by fellow Pac-10 members Patrick Christopher and Jerome Randle of California, Landry Fields of Stanford and Quincy Pondexter of Washington. Gonzaga's Matt Bouldin and Elias Harris were also named to the team. Randle earned player of the year, while Arizona State's Herb Sendek was tabbed the district's coach of the year.

A native of Ladera Ranch, Calif., Thompson earned All-Pac-10 First Team honors this year after being named to the all-freshman team in his rookie season last year. The Cougars' leading scorer, Thompson became the third fastest and 31st overall Cougar to reach 1,000 career points. Thompson accomplished the feat in just 63 games and finished his sophomore season with 1,023 points in 64 games. He is third in the conference and in the top-30 in the nation with a team-best and league second-best 19.6 points per game, along with a team second-best 5.1 rebounds an outing.

He ranked 14th in the Pac-10 this season in rebounding (5.1 rpg), fourth in 3-point field goals made (2.5 mpg), ninth in free throw percentage (.801) and ninth in steals (1.4 spg), while playing a league fourth-most 35.4 minutes a game. He ended the season with 609 points, the third-most in a single-season by a Cougar. Thompson was also named first team all-district 20 by the NABC, NetScouts Basketball All-Pac-10 First Team and second team all-conference by The Sporting News.

The USBWA was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

USBWA District IX (Calif., Ore., Wash., Hawaii, Ariz., Alaska)

Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Patrick Christopher, California
Landry Fields, Stanford
Elias Harris, Gonzaga
Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State
Adrian Oliver, San Jose State
Quincy Pondexter, Washington
Jerome Randle, California
Omar Samhan, Saint Mary's
Klay Thompson, Washington State

Jerome Randle, California

Herb Sendek, Arizona State

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder