Lloyd and Murrey Earn Repeat Selections to USA A2 Squad

April 13, 2010

BERKELEY - California volleyball senior All-American setter Carli Lloyd and junior outside hitter Tarah Murrey each earned repeat selections to the U.S. Women's National A2 Program for 2010, head coach Rich Feller announced. The duo will join an elite group of 22 other players and the four coaches who were announced to train from May 24-28 in Tempe, Ariz., before being split into two 12-player rosters to compete in the Open Division of the 2010 USA Open National Championships held in nearby Phoenix. The Open Division flight takes place May 29-June 1 at the Phoenix Convention Center. Additional information on the tournament can be found at www.usavolleyball.org/events/2245.

'I was very happy with the level of the tryout held in February and, as a result, we expect that this year's A2 teams will be very strong in training and in competition at the USA Open National Championships,' U.S. Women's National Team Head Coach Hugh McCutcheon (Christchurch, New Zealand) said. 'The future continues to look bright for the U.S. Women's National Team with the talent coming up through the pipeline.'

'As we thought, the open tryout in February was the best and deepest collection of athletes that we had seen at that event. We feel the same about this group of A2 athletes,' USA Volleyball Managing Director of Indoor High Performance Tom Pingel said. 'I'm already looking forward to watching this group in training and the Open Championships.'

Middle blockers selected for the A2 national program are Rachael Adams (University of Texas, Cincinnati, Ohio), Alyssa Davis (Auburn University, Oakland Park, Fla.), Jen Doris (University of Texas, Houston), Lindsay Fletemier (University of Dayton, Garden City, Mich.), Sabel Moffett (Northwestern University, Temecula, Calif.) and Dominique Olowolafe (Cal Poly, Lansing, Mich.).

Setters selected for the A2 squad are Carli Lloyd (University of California-Berkeley, Bonsall, Calif.), Kelly Murphy (University of Florida, Wilmington, Ill.), Evan Sanders (Colorado State University, Lafayette, Colo.) and Paige Weber (University of Arizona, Indianapolis, Ind.).

Liberos/Defensive specialists chosen for the A2 program are Ellie Blankenship (University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Rapids, Iowa), Laura Gonzalez (University of Albany, Carolina, Puerto Rico), Ashley Mass (Iowa State University, Muskego, Wis.) and Sydney Yogi (University of Texas, Honolulu).

Outside hitters and opposites named to the A2 team are Michelle Bartsch (University of Illinois, Maryville, Ill.), Kelsey Black (Texas A&M, Amarillo, Texas), Kanani Danielson (University of Hawaii, Ewa Beach, Hawaii), Laura DeBruler (University of Illinois, Downers Grove, Ill.), Whitney Dosty (University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.), Juliann Faucette (University of Texas, San Diego, Calif.), Monique Mead (Georgia Tech, Newnan, Ga.), Tarah Murrey (University of California-Berkeley, El Cerrito, Calif.), Juliane Piggot (UC Irvine, Newport Beach, Calif.) and Ali Troost (University of San Diego, Hemet, Calif.).

Bartsch, DeBruler, Fletemier, Lloyd, Murrey and Weber all were part of the 2009 U.S. Women's National A2 Program.

The players, all of whom have remaining collegiate eligibility for 2010, were selected as part of the U.S. Women's National Team Open Tryouts held Feb. 19-21 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs. A record total of 175 athletes competed in the Open Tryout.

In addition, USA Volleyball has announced the coaching staff for the U.S. Women's National A2 Teams. University of Utah Head Coach Beth Launiere and University of Michigan Head Coach Mark Rosen will serve as head coaches for the program, while University of Virginia Assistant Coach Jill Kramer and LSU Assistant Coach Steve Loeswick will serve as assistant coaches for the program.

2010 U.S. Women's National A2 Program RosterRachael Adams (Texas, MB, 2, 6-2, Cincinnati, Ohio)Michelle Bartsch (Illinois, OPP, 2, 6-3, Maryville, Ill.)Kelsey Black (Texas A&M, OH, 2, 5-11, Amarillo, Texas)Ellie Blankenship (Northern Iowa, L, 1, 5-10, Cedar Rapids, Iowa)Alyssa Davis (Auburn, MB, 1, 6-5, Oakland Park, Fla.)Laura DeBruler (Illinois, OH, 1, 5-10, Downers Grove, Ill.)Kanani Danielson (Hawaii, OH, 2, 5-10, Ewa Beach, Hawaii)Jen Doris (Texas, MB, 1, 6-5, Houston, Texas)Whitney Dosty (Arizona, OH, 1, 6-3, Tucson, Ariz.)Juliann Faucette (Texas, OH, 1, 6-2, San Diego, Calif.)Lindsay Fletemier (Dayton, MB, 1, 6-6, Garden City, Mich.)Laurie Gonzalez (Albany, L, 2, 5-9, Carolina, Puerto Rico)Carli Lloyd (California-Berkeley, S, 1, 5-11, Bonsall, Calif.)Ashley Mass (Iowa State, L, 1, 5-8, Muskego, Wis.)Monique Mead (Georgia Tech, OPP, 3, 5-10, Newnan, Ga.)Sabel Moffett (Northwestern, MB, 1, 6-0, Temecula, Calif.)Kelly Murphy (Florida, S, 2, 6-2, Wilmington, Ill.)Tarah Murrey (California-Berkeley, OH, 2, 6-3, El Cerrito, Calif.)Dominique Olowolafe (Cal Poly, MB, 1, 6-1, Lansing, Mich.)Juliane Piggott (UC Irvine, OH, 1, 6-2, Newport Beach, Calif.)Evan Sanders (Colorado State, S, 2, 6-0, Lafayette, Colo.)Ali Troost (San Diego, OPP, 1, 6-1, Hemet, Calif.)Paige Weber (Arizona, S, 1, 5-9, Indianapolis, Ind.)Sydney Yogi (Texas, L, 2, 5-2, Honolulu)

Head Coaches: Beth Launiere (University of Utah) and Mark Rosen (University of Michigan)Assistant Coaches: Jill Kramer (University of Virginia) and Steve Loeswick (LSU)

Release courtesy of USA Volleyball and Bill Kauffman, media relations director

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network