Arizona State's McCormick and Bradshaw Capture 2010 Pac-10 Men's Diving Awards

April 14, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE freshman Riley McCormick was named Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year and Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, while his coach Mark Bradshaw has been named Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today. The awards were voted on by the head men's diving coaches from around the Conference.

McCormick, a native of Victoria, B.C., won the platform competition at the Pac-10 Diving Championships with a score of 476.8. At the Zone E Championships, McCormick, a member of Canada's national team and a competitor in the 10-meter platform at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, won the 10-meter competition with a score of 905.4, almost 170 points more than his next competitor. At the NCAA Championships in Columbus, Ohio, McCormick, who is ranked eighth in the world on the 10-meter, finished in second place with a score of 469.5 and earned All-American honors with his finish.

Arizona State head coach Mark Bradshaw led the Sun Devils to a stellar season in 2009-10. Three Sun Devil divers, including McCormick, qualified for the NCAA Championships, tying the most divers Bradshaw has coached into the Championships in one season. All three Sun Devils, McCormick, sophomore Constantin Blaha and sophomore Elina Eggers on the women's side all made the finals at the NCAA Championships. McCormick finished as runner-up at the NCAA Championships on platform and became an All-American under Bradshaw's watch as a freshman this season. This is his seventh Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year honor, more than any coach in Conference history.



Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network