Men's Golf Aiming For 13th Pac-10 Title April 26-28 At Karsten Golf Course

April 14, 2010

The Arizona State men's golf team hosts the 2010 Pac-10 Golf Championship at its Karsten Golf Course (7,057 yards - par 71) April 26-28. The teams will tee off on the first day (April 26) beginning at 7 a.m. and then noon off holes No. 1 and No. 10, as the six-man teams will play 36 holes on the first day.

ASU became the fifth school to win the team title in the past half decade when it won the title in 2008 as USC (2007), UCLA (2006), Washington (2005 and 2009) and Arizona (2004) all have taken home a trophy in the past six tournaments.

At the 2008 Pac-10 Championships at The Meadow Club (par-71, 6,686 yards) in Fairfax, Calif., ASU, playing with three freshmen, two sophomores and a senior, captured its eighth Pac-10 title in 16 years under head coach Randy Lein in a one-hole playoff over defending conference champion USC (#2 Golfstat/#3 Golfweek). ASU trailed by 16 to the Trojans after the first round. ASU shot 354-361-356-364 and tied with the Trojans (338-374-357-366) at 15-over 1,435. The Pac-10 Championship counts the low five scores from the six-man teams.

Arizona State has now won 12 Pac-10 titles in its 31 seasons, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990, 1993 and 2008. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula, and the league decided to go to a playoff format after that season. In its past seven Pac-10 championships, ASU has finished first (2008), third (2003, 2006, 2007 and 2009), second (2004) and tied for first (2005).

ASU coach Randy Lein has now led ASU to eight Pac-10 titles in his 17 seasons. ASU previously won titles in 1993, Lein's first year, and then won six straight from 1995-2000. ASU tied for first but lost in a tiebreaker in 2005, finished second in 2001 and 2004 and third in 1994, 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2009. Since joining the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five just twice in its 31 championships (ninth in 2002 and sixth in 1983).

Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10 titles from 1998-2000, which is the last time a Sun Devil won the title and is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10 titles. Other Sun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson (1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalists Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979).

PAC-10 TEAM CHAMPIONS (since 1990)
1990 Arizona State
1991 Arizona
1992 Stanford
1993 Arizona State
1994 Stanford
1995 Arizona State
1996 Arizona State
1997 Arizona State
1998 Arizona State
1999 Arizona State
2000 Arizona State
2001 USC
2002 USC
2003 UCLA
2004 Arizona
2005 Washington
2006 UCLA
2007 USC
2008 Arizona State
2009 Washington

1990 Phil Mickelson, ASU 278
1991 Manny Zerman, ARIZ 278
1992 Christian Cevaer, STAN 276
1993 Jason Gore, ARIZ 284
1994 Jason Gore, ARIZ 287
1995 Charlie Wi, CAL 279
1996 Tiger Woods, STAN 270
1997 Scott Johnson, ASU 278
1998 Paul Casey, ASU 283
1999 Paul Casey, ASU 265*
2000 Paul Casey, ASU 265*
2001 Ricky Barnes, ARIZ 268
2002 Jim Seki, STAN 284
2003 John Merrick, UCLA 276
2004 Henry Liaw, ARIZ 279
2005 Erik Olson, WASH 276
2006 Daniel Im, UCLA 277
2007 Jamie Lovemark, USC 269
2008 Creighton Honeck, ARIZ 281
2009 Darren Wallace, WASH 277
* Lowest 72-hole individual total inPac-10 Championship history.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network