USC'S Ishimatsu and Li and Arizona State's Eggers Capture 2010 Pac-10 Women's Diving Awards

April 14, 2010


WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- USC sophomore Victoria Ishimatsu has been named the 2010 Pac-10 Conference Women’s Diver of the Year, USC head coach Hongping Li has been named Pac-10 Women’s Diving Coach of the Year and ARIZONA STATE sophomore Elina Eggers has been named the Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year award. The awards were voted on by the head women’s diving coaches from around the Conference. 

This is Ishimatsu’s second straight Pac-10 Women’s Diver of the Year accolade, after winning in 2009. Ishimatsu had a strong sophomore campaign for the Trojans. At the 2010 Pac-10 Diving Championships, the Seal Beach, Calif. native won the 1-meter title with a score of 332.80 and the 3-meter title with a score of 381.15, and was honored as the Diver of the Meet. She also won the 1-meter and 3-meter competition at the Zone E Diving Championships, to qualify for the NCAA Championships. At NCAA’s she became USC’s first two-time All-American diver since Blythe Hartley in 2006 by finishing in fifth on the 1-meter and fourth on the 3-meter.

Sophomore Eggers burst onto the Pac-10 diving scene in 2010 and was the only athlete to place in all three diving competitions at the Pac-10 Diving Championships. She finished in third on the 1-meter (311.10), second on the 3-meter (377.25) and in first in the platform (308.75). The Stockholm, Sweden native and 2008 Beijing Olympic finalist in the 10-meter tower, Eggers dominated at the Zone E Championships, finishing in first on the tower with a score of 612.3. At the NCAA Championships, she finished in fourth on the tower, with a score of 302.4 to garner her first All-American accolades of her career. 

Li, in his 11th season at the helm of the USC diving program, has been honored as the Pac-10 Women’s Diving Coach of the Year for the second straight season.  Li has coached multiple All-Americans, including Ishimatsu this season. Along with Ishimatsu, Li coached Ariel Rittenhouse to the NCAA Championships as a freshman this season. The Beijing, China native has twice been named the NCAA Women’s Diving Coach of the Year (2002 and 2006). 


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network