Akeem Ayers and Rahim Moore Named To Lott Trophy Watch List

April 15, 2010

UCLA defensive standouts Akeem Ayers and Rahim Moore have been named to the 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today in Newport Beach by Ronnie Lott and the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

Ayers is a 6-4, 252-pound junior linebacker from Los Angeles who had 14.5 tackles for losses last season. He added four interceptions (returning two for touchdowns) and totaled 75 tackles, most among the returning Bruins.He also scored a touchdown on a fumble recovery, giving him three defensive scores in 2009. Ayers has been on the UCLA Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Moore, 6-1, 197, led the nation with 10 interceptions last season, one shy of the UCLA school record and the most by an NCAA FBS player since 2003. The junior safety from Los Angeles earned All-America honors and was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection a year ago. Moore was on the UCLA Athletic Director's Honor Roll for Fall of 2009.

'This is a superb list of young men,' said Lott as he announced the list. 'We at the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation are always pleased to see the accomplishments of such outstanding student-athletes, all of whom are worthy of consideration for the Lott Trophy.'

Akeem Ayers scored three defensive touchdowns in 2009

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibit's the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, members of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, the Legends Coaches and distinguished alumni of various schools around the nation.

The winner, who will be announced at the annual black-tie gala in December, receives $25,000 for his school's general scholarship fund. Three runnerups each receive $5,000.

The previous winners of the Lott Trophy:
2004 - David Pollack, Georgia
2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 - Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 - Jerry Hughes, TCU

In six years, the IMPACT Foundation has now donated more than $750,000 to various charities.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network