Godsoe Named Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year

April 16, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Stanford senior and captain Eugene Godsoe was named the Pac-10 Conference's Swimmer of the Year on a vote of the conference's coaches following an NCAA title in the 100 backstroke, two third place finishes at the NCAA Championships in the 100 butterfly and 200 backstroke and conference titles in the 100 and 200 backstrokes.

Godsoe finished his career with 52 points in his final NCAAs, giving him 112 combined points, good for 28th-best all-time.

Stanford won its 29th consecutive Pac-10 title, where Godsoe was named the swimmer of the meet, and went onto finish fourth at the NCAA Championships.

Godsoe is Stanford's tenth winner of the Pac-10's Swimmer of the Year honor. Godose is also the third  Cardinal in four seasons to win the award. Other winners include: Dave Bottom (1983), Pablo Morales (1985-86), Jeff Rouse (1992), Derek Weatherford (1994-co), Brian Retterer (1995), Peter Marshall (2004), Ben Wildman-Tobriner (2007), Paul Kornfeld (2008).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder