Seven Wildcats in the NBA Playoffs

April 16, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. – Each NBA season, the University of Arizona men’s basketball team is among the leaders when it comes to former players in the postseason and the 2009-10 season is no different.


This year UA boasts seven former players on NBA playoff rosters with six former Cats on Western Conference teams and one with an Eastern Conference club. 


They include: Luke Walton (Los Angeles Lakers), Jason Terry (Dallas Mavericks), Richard Jefferson (San Antonio Spurs), Channing Frye (Phoenix Suns), Jerryd Bayless (Portland Trailblazers), Mustafa Shakur (Oklahoma City Thunder), and Mike Bibby (Atlanta Hawks).


In terms of where Arizona ranks among other universities, the Wildcats are tied with Duke for the second-most players in the playoffs.  North Carolina leads all schools with 10 players in the postseason.


Throughout the ’09-’10 regular season, UA had 11 different players appear on NBA rosters.


Additionally two players, Brandon Jennings of Milwaukee and Stephen Jackson of Charlotte, who both signed letters-of-intent with Arizona but never attended or played for the Wildcats have also qualified for the NBA postseason.


# of Former Players in the NBA Playoffs

10 – North Carolina

7 – Arizona


6 – Texas



Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network