#1 Baseball Sweeps USC With 14-6 Victory

April 18, 2010

Box Score

TEMPE, Ariz. - The No. 1 Arizona State University baseball team completed a three-game sweep of USC on Sunday with a 14-6 victory at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. A crowd of 3,489 saw the Sun Devils improve to 31-3 overall, 9-3 in the Pac-10, with the victory.

Jake Borup bounced back from a tough first inning to earn the win and improve to 7-1 on the season. He went seven innings and allowed six hits and five runs (three earned) with six strikeouts and two walks, with four of those runs coming in the opening frame. He allowed just two hits and one run in the next six innings.

Kole Calhoun went 2-for-5 and drove in three runs while Johnny Ruettiger was 3-for-5 with two RBI to lead the Sun Devils at the plate. Deven Marrero and Austin Barnes also had two hits each, while Andrew Aplin added two RBI in the win.

USC had its first five batters reach base in the first and took a 4-0 lead. ASU scored one in the bottom of the first on an RBI groundout by Riccio Torrez and then scored four more in the second. Aplin started the scoring with an RBI single, Drew Maggi then singled in a run, Aplin scored on an error and Maggi scored on a balk to put ASU in front.

Marrero and Barnes then had RBI singles in the third, and Ruettiger plated two runs with a triple in the fourth.

Calhoun's two-run double in the fifth gave ASU an 11-4 lead, and after USC scored a run in the top of the seventh, Calhoun came through with another RBI double in the bottom half of the inning to make it 12-5.

The Devils would score two more in the eighth, with Marrero and Wilson both scoring on an error. The Trojans added a run in the ninth, but Jordan Swagerty struck out the final two batters to finish off the victory.

Eight of the nine players in ASU's starting lineup had a hit and all nine scored a run in the game.

The Sun Devils will return to action on Tuesday, when they host Arizona in a non-conference game. First pitch is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network