No. 38/36 UW Women Vyying For Pac-10 Golf Title

April 18, 2010

• Live Scoring

EUGENE, Ore -- Up next for the Washington Husky women's golf team is the 2010 Pac-10 Championships starting Monday, April 19 and running through Wednesday, April 21 at the Eugene Country Club.

The 24th edition of the event will make its third visit to the Eugene golf course after it hosted the event in 1991 and 2000. The first tee time for each day's single 18-hole round is set for 8:30 a.m. on Monday and Tuesday, and 8 a.m. on Wednesday.

Washington will bring a five-woman lineup to the Par 72, 6,203-yard course that includes senior Molly Aronsson, juniors Karinn Dickinson and Anya Alvarez and sophomores Sadena Parks and Darcie Richmond. Alvarez leads the Huskies with a 75.04 stroke per round average, but Aronsson has been the team's hottest golfer. She has been the Dawgs top finisher in the last three tournaments and has had two top-10 finishes in that stretch.

'The spirits are good,' said Husky coach Mary Lou Mulflur about her squad as they prepared to head to Oregon. 'We've had some good's a golf course that most of the team has played. It's a very challenging, good golf course. I feel like we'll be ready to go.'

The Huskies were ninth at last year's Pac-10 Championships. This year's tournament will once again be stacked with many of the nation's top-ranked teams. The Pac-10 field is ranked as follows (Golfstat/Golfweek rankings): UCLA (1/2), Arizona State (2/1), USC (5/5), Arizona (7/6), Stanford (14/13), California (24/17), Oregon (34/35), Washington (38/36), Oregon State (101/101) and Washington State (107/113).

Arizona State won last year's team title, thanks to junior Carlota Ciganda, who won last year's Pac-10 title with her par score on the first playoff hole and broke a three-way tie after regulation.

Four other top-10 placers from 2009 return - USC sophomore Jennifer Song and junior Lizette Salas who were tied for the lead with Ciganda after 54 holes, UCLA junior Glory Yang (eighth) and California junior Pia Halbig (ninth-tie). Five top-10 finishers from the 2008 edition are also eligible to play - the USC trio of senior Belen Mozo (third-tie), Salas (sixth) and senior Stefanie Endstrasser (eighth), ASU senior Julianna Murcia (ninth) and Yang (10th-tie). Murcia will aim for her second top-10 finish after she placed fourth as a freshman in 2007.

All-time, Arizona State has staked eight Pac-10 team titles, followed by Arizona (6), UCLA (5), USC (2), California (1) and Stanford (1). ASU individuals have claimed top honors 10 times, followed by Arizona (4), UCLA (3), USC (3), California (1), Stanford (1) and Washington (1).

Paige Mackenzie is the lone Husky to win the individual title, taking the 2006 event.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder