Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week

April 19, 2010


BERKELEY - Lindsey Ziegenhirt was instrumental in Cal's first conference series sweep this weekend at Arizona State, hitting four home runs. She finished the weekend with a 1.600 slugging average and six RBIs, making the freshman catcher the Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week.

In the first game of the weekend, the Bears were down, 1-0, in the top of the second when Ziegenhirt had her first at bat of the weekend. After watching one ball and taking a strike, she sent the next pitch soaring over the left-field wall for a solo shot to bring the Bears back into the game, 1-1. Thanks to Ziegenhirt's jump-starting run, Cal went on to win that game, 3-1, to stop a three-game losing skid.

Saturday's middle match saw more offensive firepower from the Elk Grove, Calif., native. In the top of the first, the Bears made lightening fast work of the Sun Devils with two runners reaching by the time Ziegenhirt stepped up to the plate. The freshman catcher fouled one off and watched two balls before smashing her 11th roundtripper of the season to give Cal a very early, yet very key, 3-0 lead over ASU.

The veritable hit parade continued for the Bears in the top of the third on Saturday. For the second time in the game and the third time in two games, Ziegenhirt hit another home run, this one her 12th of the year, putting Cal up, 5-0.

On Sunday in the series finale, Cal held a 7-3 lead but in the top of the seventh, the Bears were not done leaving their mark in the desert. It was then that Ziegenhirt tallied her fourth homer of the weekend to distance the Bears, 8-3. This home run came after she battled through seven pitches, three of which were fouls, to send one into left. Frani Echavarria then got aboard with a single into left and Taylor Kelly took her shot and homered to left, bringing the Bears' total to 10-3. Ziegenhirt is tied with Valerie Arioto with 13 homers.

Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week

Date Winner Sport
April 19 Lindsey Ziegenhirt Softball
April 12 Deborah Maier Track and Field
April 5 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
March 29 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
March 15 Glen Ishino Men's Gymnastics
March 8 Valerie Arioto Softball
March 1 Jamal Boykin Men's Basketball
February 22 DeNesha Stallworth Women's Basketball
February 15 Jerome Randle Men's Basketball
February 8 Emily Csikos Women's Water Polo
February 1 Michael Morrison Track and Field
January 25 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
January 19 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
January 11 Theo Robertson Men's Basketball
December 21 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
December 14 Hana Cutura Volleyball
December 7 Kristen Kathan Volleyball
November 30 Omondi Amoke Men's Basketball
November 23 Shane Vereen Football
November 16 Shane Vereen Football
November 9 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
November 2 Lisa Kevorkian Women's Soccer
October 26 Hana Cutura Volleyball
October 19 Shane Vereen Football
October 12 Zach White Men's Water Polo
October 5 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer
September 28 Carli Lloyd Volleyball
September 21 Jahvid Best Football
September 14 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer
September 8 Lisa Kevorkian Women's Soccer
August 31 Hana Cutura Volleyball

2008-09 Winners

2007-08 Winners

2006-07 Winners

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network