Wildcats Win Pac-10 Championship

April 21, 2010

Tournament Results

EUGENE, Ore. - An even par team score of 288 helped #7-ranked Arizona battle back from a three-shot deficit to capture the 2010 Pac-10 Women’s Golf Championship, Wednesday afternoon at the Eugene Country Club.

The conference title was the 7th in program history and the first for the Wildcats since the 2002 team led by Lorena Ochoa bested the field at Walla Walla Country Club in Walla Walla, Wash. Arizona also earned its second conference title at the Eugene Country Club after taking the 2000 crown on the same course.

Arizona began the day three shots behind top-ranked UCLA and fell behind by as many as nine strokes after the first five holes of play. However, the Wildcats picked up their play starting on the 6th hole and began to make their move.

Margarita Ramos, Alejandra Llaneza and Nikki Koller all posted birdie on the par-5 6th hole, boosting the trio to a net score of 4-under heading into the turn. On the back nine, Isabelle Boineau continued her rebound from a double-bogey on the 6th hole by recording par on 11 of her final 12 holes to go along with a birdie on the par-5 8th hole.

With Ramos, Llaneza and Koller combining to shoot 1-under on the back nine, the Wildcats finished off a second-straight low round of the day.

Llaneza had the low round of the day for the Wildcats, carding a 1-under 71 one day after shooting a season-worst total of 82. She finished the 54-hole event tied for 23rd on the individual leaderboard at 11-over par 227.

Ramos was the top finisher for Arizona, ending up in a five-way tie for third place at 3-over 219 after shooting an even-par round of 72 on Wednesday. Koller also shot 72 on Wednesday to share 14th place with teammate Sherlyn Popelka while Boineau finished tied for 10th place at 5-over par with her second 1-over round of the tournament.

Carlota Ciganda won a 1-hole playoff with teammate Juliana Murcia to win medalist honors after the Arizona State duo finished atop the leaderboard at 2-under par. Oregon finished in third place in the team standings at 889 while USC (891) and Washington (906) rounded out the top five.

Arizona will now wait to learn its placement in the 2010 NCAA Tournament, starting with regional tournament play May 6-8 at one of three sites. The regional pairings will be announced on Monday, April 26 at 1:00 p.m. The three regional hosts are Stanford in the West (Stanford Golf Course), Indiana in the Central (Otter Creek Golf Course) and East Carolina in the East (Ironwood Country Club). The top seven teams at each 54-hole regional tournament earn berths to the NCAA Championships, which will be held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, North Carolina.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network