Five Golfers Highlight All-Pac-10 Team

April 22, 2010

The entire lineup for UCLA's top-ranked women's golf team was named to various All-Pac-10 Teams, the conference announced on Thursday.

Sophomore Stephanie Kono and senior Sydnee Michaels were selected to the first team. Sophomore Brianna Do and freshman Tiffany Lua were named to the second team and junior Glory Yang earned honorable mention acclaim.

For Kono, it completes an honor-laden fortnight. On Apr. 11, she fired a 66 (-6) in the final round of the PING/ASU Invitational to rally the Bruins to a one-shot victory over Arizona State on its home course. She also won medalist honors, securing her third collegiate title. The following day she earned national Player of the Week honors and was named to the 2010 Curtis Cup Team. She also earned First-Team All-Pac-10 honors in 2009.

Michaels, who was selected as the second alternate for the Curtis Cup squad, has enjoyed one of her best seasons as a Bruin. She has averaged 72.7 in 23 rounds, nearly two strokes better than her career average. She has also finished in the Top 25 in all eight of her starts this season.

Lua also earned a berth on the Curtis Cup team with Kono. In her first collegiate season, she has averaged 73.0 in 26 rounds and was the Bruins' highest finisher at the conference championship, tying for third.

In her first season as a regular player in the lineup, Do has averaged 73.8 in 26 rounds with four Top 20 results and four rounds under par.

Finally, Yang tied for 10th at the conference tournament after struggling much of the season retooling her swing. Her final round 71 (-1) on Wednesday was the team's best score of the day.

Pac-10 Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and Newcomer/Freshman of the Year will not be announced until after the NCAA Championship.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network