Four Cats Earn All-Pac-10 Awards

April 22, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four members of the Arizona women's golf team were honored with all-Pac-10 awards in a vote conducted by the league's coaches.

Sophomore Margarita Ramos was the lone member of the team named to the All-Pac-10 First Team, the first Wildcat since Alison Walshe in 2008 to earn the award. Ramos joins a list of former Wildcats including Annika Sorenstam, Lorena Ochoa, Jenna Daniels and Natalie Gulbis to earn 1st-team accolades.

Sophomore Isabelle Boineau was chosen to the 2nd-team while junior Alejandra Llaneza and freshman Sherlyn Popelka were each honorable mention honorees. Boineau, who is currently rated the #35 player in the latest GolfWeek/Sagarin Performance Index, is second on the team with a 73.27 scoring average and has six top 20 finishes on the season.

Llaneza earned her second-straight all-conference award after earning 2nd-team recognition last season. Popelka marked her freshman season by winning the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown in November, the first win for an Arizona player since Alison Walshe captured the 2008 NCAA West Regional.

The Wildcats placed four members on the all-conference list for the first time since the 2001 season and matched the total of both top-ranked UCLA and #2-ranked Arizona State.

Arizona will continue postseason competition at one of the NCAA Regional sites, set for May 6-8. The pairings for each of the three sites will be announced on Monday, April 26 at 1:00 p.m. (PT)

2010 Women's Golf All-Conference Teams

First Team

Carlota Ciganda, So., Arizona State

Stephanie Kono, So., UCLA

Jennifer Johnson, Fr., Arizona State

Sydnee Michaels, Sr., UCLA

Juliana Murcia, Sr., Arizona State

Lizette Salas, Jr., USC

Jennifer Song, So., USC

Margarita Ramos, So., Arizona

Second Team

Isabelle Boineau, So., Arizona

Brianna Do, So., UCLA

Rebecca Durham, Jr., Stanford

Joanne Lee, RS-So., California

Kendra Little, Jr., Oregon

Tiffany Lua, Fr., UCLA

Jaclyn Sweeney, Jr., Arizona State

Sally Watson, Fr., Stanford

Honorable Mention

Anya Alvarez, Jr., Washington

Pia Halbig, Jr., California

Alejandra Llaneza, Jr., Arizona

Belen Mozo, Sr., USC

Sherlyn Popelka, Fr., Arizona

Cyna Rodriguez, Fr., USC

Kristina Wong, Fr., Stanford

Glory Yang, Jr., UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder