Pac-10 to Provide Live Webstream of Conference Championship

April 22, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz.--In conjunction with CBS College Sports, the Pac-10 Conference will provide live streaming web content at the 2010 Pac-10 Men's Golf Championship, hosted by Arizona State University.

The webstream from the 18th-hole of the ASU Karsten Golf Course will be broadcast for free through CBS College Sports All-Access promotion. To view the Championship content, click on the links provided below.

The Sun Devils will serve host to the 2010 Pac-10 Men’s Golf Championship by at the par-71, ASU Karsten Golf Course.

2010 Live Webstream

2010 Pac-10 Championship Preview

The Pacific-10 Conference is renowned for its perennial excellence in men’s golf and this year proves to be no exception. The 2010 Pac-10 Men’s Golf Championship, hosted by Arizona State University at the ASU Karsten Golf Course, April 26-28, features 10 nationally ranked teams, nine of which are ranked in the top 50. The tournament will also welcome a host of outstanding individual players making a name for themselves—of among which are Oregon State's Diego Velasquez, Oregon’s Eugene Wong, Nick Taylor of Washington, and Arizona State's Jesper Kennegard.

Leader of the Pac
The Pac-10 Championship is never short of star power and the 2010 contest boasts some of the top teams in the nation. Of the 10 teams competing for the Conference Championship, nine are ranked in the top-50 according to Golfstat: No. 2 Stanford, No. 3 Washington, No. 4 Oregon, No. 5 UCLA, No. 9 USC, No. 13 Arizona State, No. 23 Oregon State, No. 35 California and No. 45 Arizona. Washington State rounds out the Conference with a rank of 71, well below the century mark.

Individually, the Pac-10 has a myriad of nationally-ranked standouts. Oregon State’s Velasquez, ranks second in the prestigious Golfstat Cup standings, holding a 70.12 stroke average. Looking to defend last year’s Pac-10 title, the Huskies can boast some serious depth with Taylor (7th), Chris Williams (43rd) and Richard Lee (48th) all ranked in top-50 golfers in the nation according to Golfstat. Overall, the Pac-10 claims nine golfers ranked in the top-50 nationally and representing six different Conference schools.

Winning Reputations
USC leads the Conference with 18 Pac-10 titles and could prove a formidable opponent, rounding out the top 10 in the national rankings. Arizona State comes in second with 12 Conference Championships, followed by second-ranked Stanford with seven victories. Washington and UCLA have each won five conference contests, followed by Arizona with three wins and Oregon claiming two. Oregon State, California and Washington State enter the 2010 tournament in search of their first Pac-10 nod.

2009 Conference Championship
The 2009 Pac-10 Championship saw Washington dominate the competition in every round at the Seattle Golf Club. The Huskies finished 16-under par for a four-round total of 1424, 18 strokes ahead of second-place finisher Oregon. Although it was the seventh time in which the Huskies hosted the tournament, it is only the second time they won the Conference Championship at home. Then-junior Darren Wallace blew away the competition, shooting 11-under par to win the Conference Individual Championship. Arizona State rounded out the top three.

Pac-10 Head-to-Head
If the recent play of the Pac-10 schools is any indication of what to expect come April 26, the Conference Tournament should be an all out battle of national heavy weights. Arizona State hosted its annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational in early April, with all 10 Pac-10 schools scouting the Conference Championship course. The reigning Pac-10 Champion Huskies asserted their dominance, claiming the Thunderbird team championship, shooting a 13-under 839. Second place UCLA would not be edged out easily, finishing 11-under, while third place USC was hot on the Bruin’s heels, finishing 10-under. The Pac-10 also dominated individually, with Washington’s Williams tying for first at 8-under, while six other Pac-10 individuals finished in the top 10.

Just prior to the Pac-10 Championships, nine Conference teams competed in 20-team field of the U.S. Intercollegiate hosted by Stanford, April 11-13. Once again, the Pac-10 eclipsed the competition with 16 players finishing in the top-20. Oregon’s Daniel Miernicki took medalist honors, shooting an 8-under 202. Miernicki and Arizona State’s Kennegard each shot a tournament-low round of 64. The Pac-10 also represented six of the top-seven team finishes, with second-place San Diego State breaking up the list of top finshers from the Conference.

Home Course Advantage/Karsten Highlights
Arizona State has an immaculate record of success when the Pac-10 tournament is contested on its home course: the Sun Devils have won the conference title each of the three times they hosted. This is particularly astonishing when one considers the rigorous nature of the Pete Dye course. Designed in Scottish links style with rolling hills and lush fairways, Karsten boasts four sets of tees ranging from 4,765 to 7,002 yards, providing an uncompromising challenge for the Sun Devils and their opponents.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network