Ishimatsu, Rittenhouse Win Bronze In 3-Meter Synchro At FINA World Series

April 23, 2010

USC sophomore Victoria Ishimatsu and freshman Ariel Rittenhouse teamed to win the bronze medal in women's synchronized 3-meter Tuesday in the final stage of the FINA/Li-Ning Diving World Series meet in Veracruz, Mexico.

Ishimatsu and Rittenhouse scored 292.20 points for third place behind China's Wu Minxia and He Zi (336.60) and Russia's Svetlana Fillipova and Anastasia Podzniakova (297.78). The United States also won bronze medals in women's 3-meter synchro at the first two World Series meets, with Cassidy Krug and Kassidy Cook placing third in China and Kelci Bryant and Abby Johnston taking third in Mexico last week.

Ishimatsu, a two-time 2010 All-American and two-time 2010 Pac-10 champion, also advanced to the 3-meter individual finals, where she placed sixth. Rittenhouse did not advance after placing fifth in her semifinal.

The FINA World Series is an invitation-only event featuring the top divers from the 2009 World Championships. The U.S. finished the 2010 Series with two silver and seven bronze medals.

The final leg of the Series was originally scheduled for April 23-24 in Sheffield, Great Britain. Because of the travel disruptions throughout Europe as a result of the volcano eruption in Iceland, FINA officials decided to move the meet to April 20-21 in Veracruz, which had hosted the second leg of the Series April 16-17.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder