Women's Tennis Continues Play at the Pac-10 Championships

April 23, 2010

The Arizona State women's tennis team continued play at the 2010 Pacific-10 Women's Tennis Championship. Held in conjunction with the 110th Ojai Valley Tournament, the tournament determines the conference champion in singles and doubles and will run through Sunday, April 25.

The Sun Devils struggled during day two as the doubles team of Sianna Simmons and Ashlee Brown were the lone Sun Devils to walk off the court with a win. They first topped Molly McDevitt and Julia Metzger of Oregon before earning a semi-final bid after besting Sarah Landsman and Natiali Toporowska of Arizona.

In the main doubles draw, the team of Micaela Hein and Kelcy McKenna couldn't fight out Noelle Hickey and Nina Pantic as they lost 9-7. Nadia Abdala and Michelle Brycki also lost their doubles match 9-7 to Vinise Chan and Lina Xu of Washington.

In the main singles draw, Hannah James dropped her quarterfinal match 6-1, 6-3 to Cal's Mari Andersson while Micaela Hein was forced to opt out of hers due to an injury. Simmons fell in her quarterfinal match in the Invitation Singles Flight. The sophomore put up a tough fight but ultimately succumbed 5-7, 6-4, 7-6 (4) to Cal's Tayler Davis.

The Pac-10 Championship continues through tomorrow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder