Cats Stay West For Regionals

April 26, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. - For the third-straight season, Arizona was selected to compete in the West region of the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships. The regional tournament will be held May 6-8 at the Stanford Golf Course in Palo Alto, Calif.

Arizona, currently ranked #7 in the latest NCGA Coaches' Poll, was paired up with top-ranked UCLA and #6-ranked Alabama among the 24 total teams in the field. The top seven finishers in each of the three 54-hole regional tournaments receive bids to the championship tournament, which will be held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, North Carolina.

Fresh off their Pac-10 championship last weekend at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon, the Wildcats will be making their second appearance of the 2009-10 season at the Stanford Golf Club. The Cats took part in the Stanford Women's Intercollegiate in October, finishing in 7th place with a team score of 879 (+24) on the par-71, 6,156-yard course.

Arizona will be making its 18th-straight appearance in the regional round and looking for its 5th regional title. The Wildcats last won a regional title in 2001 at the Trysting Tree Golf Club in Corvallis, Oregon with Natalie Gulbis earning medalist honors at the event with a three-round total of 9-under par 207.

This season's event will also be the third regional appearance for the Wildcats at the Stanford Golf Club. Arizona captured 1st place in the 1998 West Regional, then grabbed 4th place in the 2002 event in Palo Alto.

Along with UCLA and Alabama, Arizona will be up against Ohio State, Virginia, Stanford, LSU, California, Texas A&M, Texas, UC Davis, Arkansas, UNLV, San Jose State, San Francisco, Idaho, UC Irvine, Iowa State, Maryland, Colorado State, Oral Roberts, Texas State, Pennsylvania and Portland State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network